Friday, April 13, 2018

JHL: SSTMI Thunderbolts hammer OLAK 5-0

KUALA LUMPUR: Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI) Thunderbolts demolished Old La Sallians Association of KLang (Olak) 5-0 in Division One of the Junior Hockey League (JHL) in Pandamaran yesterday.
  The win saw SSTMI Thunderbolts consolidate their League title quest, as at this stage, they have 21 points from seven matches with two 'easy' matches to play.
  As for winless Olak, they are in danger of being relegated to Division Two next season together with Perlis Young Lions who also have yet to win or draw a match.
  Two teams from Division One will be relegated, while two teams from Division Two will be promoted at the end of the JHL.
  SSTMI scored all five goals in the first half off Akhimullah Anuar Esook (second, 18th, 34th), Shello Silverius (17th) and Shahrin Izzuddin (27th).
  "Realistically, the League title is ours to lose as we have opened up a huge lead from our nearest challenger Anderson (eight points). And I don't see my players losing to Perlis Young Lions on Sunday to give Anderson a chance to catch up," said SSTMI Thunderbolts coach Wan Roslan Wan Rahman.
  Mathematically, SSTMI are the League champions at this stage and even their last match against Petaling Jaya City Council (PJCC) Tigers should be a walk in the park.
  RESULTS: Division One -- Sabah SS Resilient 4 Pahang SS Thunderbolts 1, Bukit Jalil SS Thunderbolts 6 Perlis Young Lions 1, Old La Sallians Association Klang 0 SSTMI Thunderbolts 5.
  Division Two: Group A -- MBMB Warriors 8 SSN Young LIons Jr 0; Group B: SMS Sains Batu Pahat 1 SMKGR Boys 3, BJSS Juniors 1 MSSP Stinger 1; Group C: SMK Zaaba 18 SMK Bandar Seri Putra 0.
  SUNDAY: Division One -- Sabah SS Resilient v PJCC Tigers (Likas, 4pm), SSTMI v SMKDBL UniKL v (SSTMI, 4pm), Anderson Thunderbolts v Old La Sallians Association Klang (Azlan Shah, 5pm), Pahang SS Thunderbolts v Bukit Jalil SS Thunderbolts (National Stadium, 8pm), SSTMI Thunderbolts v Perlis Young Lions (SSTMI, 6pm).
  Division Two: Group A: Datuk Taha v SSP-MSP (Seremban II, 5pm), MSNT-PHT-SMKPM v MSSPP - PSHA Jnr (Batu Buruk, 5pm); Group B: MSSP Stinger v TBSS Tampin (Perlis, 5pm), Johor Baru v Sains Batu Pahat (Batu Pahat, 5pm), SMGKR Boys v MSSPP - PSHA (Gunung Rapat, 5pm); Group C: KL Vipers v MSS Selangor (KLHA, 5pm).