Thursday, January 29, 2015

JHL: Thunderbolts-PJCC thriller..

JUNIOR Hockey League (JHL) table toppers Thunderbolts and Petaling Jaya City Council (PJCC) face-off in a thriller to claim the early Division One favourites tag at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil Friday.
  Thunderbolts, the three-time consecutive double champions from Johor, have been knocking goals past their opponents with ease but coach Wan Roslan Wan Rahman did not want to take matters lightly, as he has yet to watch PJCC in action.
   "It is difficult to judge your opponents without watching them play. If we do that, they could surprise us, so we must be cautious," he said.
  "Both teams have the early momentum so I believe it will be a tight affair as they have a few good players on their side. As for my team, everyone is fit and ready for more action," said Wan Roslan.
  Thunderbolts thumped their juniors 5-0 in the JHL curtain-raiser before hammering promoted side Politeknik Malaysia 7-2 last Sunday.
  PJCC have beaten Bukit Jalil Sports School (BJSS) 3-0 and Thunderbolts Juniors 4-1.
   Firdaus Omar is the toast of Thunderbolts as he converted three penalty corners in each match to take his tally to six, leaving Wan Roslan rooting for more from him.
  "Yes, we are banking on him to score again as he is among the core players in the squad and is also in the Project 2016. He is doing well now and I hope to see him continue his run," said Wan Roslan.
   In other Division One matches, UniKL, who have also won their opening two matches, take on BJSS while Thunderbolts Juniors play Olak PKT Tigers in Temerloh.
  FRIDAY: Division One: Thunderbolts v Olak PKDT Tigers (Temerloh, 4.45pm); PJCC v Thunderbolts (NHS I, 4.45pm); UniKL v BJSS (NHS II, 4.45pm).
  Division Two: Group A: 1MAS Perak v KLSS (Azlan Shah, 4.45pm)
SM Sains Raja Tun Azlan Shah v MSNT-PHT - (Azlan Shah, 6.45pm).
  Group B: 1MAS Perlis v ISMO PHA (Kuala Perlis, 4.45pm); MSSD Larut Matang v MSS Kedah (Kuala Kangsar, 4.45pm).
  Group C: 1MAS Malacca v 1MAS TBSS Tampin (Malacca, 4.45pm), SMK Tun Hussein v SMKDBL PHJ (Batu Pahat, 4.45pm)