Thursday, December 2, 2010

The unofficial MHL website in play now

The battle for the MHL supremacy starts on December 17, but for UniKL coach Darren Smith, the past month has been spent on getting his soldiers primed for the arduous task ahead.
Darren, who is also the assistant coach of the New Zealand squad, arrived in Malaysia last month to prepare the UniKL side for the MHL and having spoken to him when he first arrived and after a month of training his charges, one could see the optimism he has for his bunch of youngsters.



Punjabi Women's Futsal, Inspiring

TEAM Inspire emerged champions of the inaugural Punjabi Women's Futsal Tournament at the Bandar Baru Sentul Futsal Court on Nov 21.
Inspire walked away with a challenge trophy sponsored by the family of Sardara Singh Sherpura.
Team SNSM finished second while Team Sentul were third.
Manpreet Kaur of Inspire was picked as the player of the tournament.
Ten teams, with players ranging from 12-years-old to 51, participated in the tournament which was jointly organised by Sikh Naujawan Sabha Malaysia (Malaysia Sikh Youth Organisation), Selangor Sikh Union and Tatt Khalsa Diwan.
Organising committee chairman Gurdarshan Singh, who is also the president of Selangor Sikh Union, expressed satisfaction with the turnout.
"This is the first time we have organised this championships and we will do it annually," said Gurdarshan.
He said the main objective of the event was to encourage teamwork, socialising and sportsmanship spirit.

Seven TNB players for Thunderbolt

BANDAR Penawar Sports School-Thunderbolt will be beefed-up by seven seasoned Tenaga Nasional players in Division One of the Malaysia Hockey League (MHL) starting today.
Thunderbolt will be skippered by TNB employee Fairuz Hamsani, and the inclusion of experience in the schools side is expected to make them among the front-runners for the title.
“We have been training in Kuala Lumpur because of our collaboration with TNB (Thunderbolts) and with the in clusion of seven seasoned TNB employees, we hope to make an impact this season,” said Thunderbolt coach Wan Roslan Wan Rahman.
Rising from the Junior Hockey League, Thunderbolts will take on UniTen on Sunday.
In the JHL, they were denied glory when UNiKL shocked them 2-1 in the Overall final. Thunderbolts were the JHL League champions.
The Division One will see seven teams battling for honours and they are BJSS, Bukit Jalil Sports School, Ipoh City Council, Armed Forces Juniors, University Tenaga Nasional, University Sains Malaysia and Malacca City Council.
Today, BJSS will play against Armed Forces, and the schoolboys are touted to have an upper hand.
“Our target of playing in the MHL is to prepare a strong side for the JHL, and that is why we will be utilising all our players to give them maximum exposure,” said BJSS coach S. Prakash.
The Premier Division will begin on Dec 17.
DIVISION ONE -- FRIDAY: Ipoh City Council v UniTen (Azlan Shah Stadium, 5pm), Bukit Jalil SS v Armed Forces Jnr (Pantai Stadium, 5pm), Universiti Sains Malaysia v Malacca City Council (USM Stadium, 5pm).
SUNDAY: Ipoh City Council v Malacca City Council (Azlan Shah Stadium, 5pm), Bukit Jalil SS v Universiti Sains Malaysia (Pantai Stadium, 5pm), Bandar Penawar SS v UniTen (BPSS pitch, 5pm).