Saturday, January 31, 2015

Thunderbolts made to sweat

DEFENDING MHC-MILO-NSC Junior Hockey League Division One champions SSTMI Thunderbolts bounced back in style to thump KLHC 3-1 at the Kuala Lumpur Hockey Stadium yesterday.
   After being held to a 2-2 raw by Petaling Jaya City Council on Friday, Thunderbolts put their campaign on track again.
  Thunderbolts coach Wan Roslan Rahman said: "Our finishing was rather poor Friday which is what cost us the slip up, but it was good to see the team come away with three fields goals today (yesterday)."
   However, Thunderbolts could only break the deadlock in the half hour mark when Hamirul Hamizan found the back of the net.
   KLHC drew level in the 38th minute when Mohamed Khairul scored off a penalty corner, but lost the momentum in the final five minutes of play.
   Muhammad Azmie Othman (64th) and Danial Asyraf(66th) hit the high note for Thunderbolts to seal three points.
   "It was a hard fought win and I have stressed this out to my players, that things won't be easy no matter which team we play this season," added Roslan.
   At the National Hockey stadium UniKL Young Guns continued their run when they brushed aside Politeknik Malaysia 3-1.
The Politeknik side shocked last seasons runners up by taking the lead in the fifth minute through Izzuan Halim, but UniKL sealed the match with goals from Norsyafiq Sumantri (21st),  Shafirul Aqmal (23rd), and Maxhans Christi (38).

Division One:
SSTMI Thunderbolts 3 KLHC - KLHA 1
SSP/MSP/Thunderbolts 4 v SSTMI Jrs 0 
UniKL Young Guns 3  Politeknik Malaysia 1

Division 2
MSNT-PHT 3 Sekolah Tengku Abdul Rahman 0 - SAS
MSS Kedah 9 MATRI 0 
MSS Kedah 4 1Mas Penang 1 
SMK Dato  Taha 2 SMSJ Knight 1 

TODAY: Division One:
KLHC vs Politeknik (KLHA,45pm)
OLAK PKT Tigers vs SSTMI Juniors (NHS, 4.45pm)

Division 2: 1 Mas Pahang vs Kuala Lumpur Sports School ( Temerloh, 4.45pm)
1 Mas Perak v BJSS JNR (Azlan Shah, 4.45pm)
1 Mas Perlis v 1 Mas Penang, a Kuala Perlis (4.45pm)
Nur Insafi Penang Hockey v Sek. Men Agama Matri, Sg.Petani (4.45pm)
1 Mas Johor v SMK Dato Taha (Batu Pahat, 4.45pm)
1Mas Malacca v SMKDBL PHJ (Malacca, 4.45pm)