Sunday, May 12, 2013

KLHC v Tenaga final..

TENAGA Nasional will meet Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC) in the final of the TNB Cup next Sunday at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil.
  In the two-leg semi-finals, Tenaga hammered Maybank 6-2 and yesterday drew 2-2 for a comfortable 8-4 aggregate win.
  And KLHC, who won 3-1 in the first leg, hammered Sapura 8-0 for an 11-1 aggregate.
  Yesterday, Tenaga opted to slow down their match after taking a huge lead in the first semis. Faizal Saari (17th) and Faiz Helmi (58th) scored for Tenaga, while Shakeel Abbasi (51st) and Zulhairi Hashim (67th) scored for Maybank.
  KLHC, the TNB Cup holders for the last two seasons, went on a first half rampage with four goals from Akhtar Ali (eighth), Chua Boon Huat (14th), Umar Bhutta (20th) and Kelvinder Singh (26th).
  And in the second half, Muhammad Imran (40th, 45th), Kelvinder (56th), Nabil Fiqri (66th) completed the rout.
  Tenaga also had another reason to celebrate, as their second stringers TNB Thunderbolts defeated Ipoh City Council 8-2, to complete an 14-5 aggregate win to play in the President's Cup final.
  They will meet UiTM, who drew 1-1 with Sunday 2030, but advanced 3-2 on aggregate.
  "We slowed down our game in the second leg as we already had a comfortable cusion from the first leg. This was done to avoid injuries and also cards as we long to touch the TNB Cup on Sunday," said Tenaga coach Nor Azlan Bakar.
  "We had a slim cushion, and that is why we went all out in the first half itself to make sure we play in the final again. Now, we are just one step away from defending out TNB Cup title," said KLHC coach George Koshy.
  RESULTS: Semi-finals Second Leg: TNB Cup -- Tenaga 2 Maybank 2 (Tenaga win 8-4 on aggregate), KLHC 8 Sapura 0 (KLHC win 11-1 on aggregate).
   President's Cup: Ipoh CC 2 TNB Thunderbolts 8 (Thunderbolts win 14-5 on aggregate), UiTM 1 Sunday 1 (UiTM win 3-2 on aggregate).