Sunday, September 20, 2015

THT lift TNB Cup again...

THE TNB Cup had to be decided on a penalty shoot-out after regulation time saw Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC) and Terengganu Hockey Team (THT) tied 1-1 in front of a capacity crowd at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil.
  And after a harrowing shoot-out, which also ended in a 3-3 draw and went into sudden-death, THT lifted their second consecutive double when Syamim Yusof missed, while Nicholas Cicelio scored for a 5-4 win.
  The second pitch finally saw a capacity crowd of 3,000, as THT and KLHC rallied their supporters by bus-loads, and the start of school holidays also lend a helping hand.
  In a pulsating first quarter, Razie Rahim hit the bar in KLHC's first penalty corner, while THT's top-gun Faizal Shaari scored in the third minute, but video referral denied him glory as the ball was poorly trapped and it hit his body before he scored.
  However, both the teams held back in the second quarter, and only started playing hockey again after the half-time break.
  There was very little separating both the sides, until Firhan Ashaari won them a penalty corner in the 36th minute, and Faizal almost tore the netting when he gave THT the lead off his 18th goal of the season.
  And it was game on in the 38th minute when Razie Rahim flicked home his 12th goal, to equalise for KLHC. While the strikers form both sides were blunt, it looks like penalty corners are going to decide the champions.
  KLHC goalkeeper, a veteran of many internationals, kept his team in the hunt with super saves -- and was aptly named as the Best Goalkeeper.
  The match went into penalty shoot-out, but 10 seconds before the regulation time ended Faizal and Umar Bhutta were yellow carded for being involved in a shoving match.
    In the bronze battle, Sapura hammered Maybank 6-0 to claim RM40,000 while the Tigers received RM30,000.
  Pakistan import Haseem Khan started the goal-count with a 24th minute deflection, while the other goals were scored by Dangerous Lee (39th), Marhan Jalil (45th), Faridzul Afiq (47th, 54th) and Haseem (50th).
  Sapura coach Tai Beng Hai attributed the win to early goals, while Maybank coach S. Vellapan said their downfall was due to lack of desire.
  "Maybank were a diluted side as three of their imports were on the crock list, and also, we scored early goals do douse their fire," said Beng Hai.
  As for Vellapan: "My players lacked the desire to win, and that was the root of our collapse."
  RESULTS: Final -- KLHC 1 THT 1 (THT win 5-4 in shoot-out); Third-Fourth: Sapura 6 Maybank 0.
  ROLL-Of-HONOUR: Fairplay: THT; Man-of-the Final: Razie Rahim (KLHC); Best Goalkeeper: Roslan Jamaluddin (KLHC); Top Scorer: Faizal Shaari (THT, 18 goals); Player-of-the-Tournament: Fitri Shaari (THT).