Saturday, May 17, 2008

India v Argentina final

Malaysia's Chua Boon Huat epitomises how close the tournament was for Malaysia. At one stage, the story was for Malaysia to beat Belgium and India for a place in the final, but they blew both the matches.17/05/08
INDIA edged Malaysia 2-1 and will meet Argentina in the final of the 17th Azlan Shah Cup tomorrow (18/05/08).
Malaysia will not be involved in the play-offs, as their pathetic display in Ipoh has cemented their faith at the bottom of the seven-team pool.
Argentina, meanwhile, even though had qualified for the final much earlier, played to a 2-2 draw against Canada as a warm-up to the final today.
The Argentines made their debut in in the Azlan Shah Cup in 2006 where they ended seventh in an eight-pool tour nament.
And last year, the Argentines were fifth in a also an eight- team pool.
India are three-time Azlan Shah Cup champions, won in 1985, 1991 and 1995, but it has been a long 13 years since they have lifted the Trophy.
The form-book favours the Argentines, who have yet to be beaten in Ipoh, while India came back into the picture after a disastrous start, which included a 5-1 drubbing in the hands of the South Americans.
Yesterday, India scored off a Shivendra Singh field goal and a Sandeep Singh penalty stroke in the first half, while Malaysia got their consolation after the final hooter, when Amin Rahim scored from a penalty corner.
RESULTS: Argentina 2 Canada 2, India 2 Malaysia 1, New Zealand 3 Belgium 1.
TODAY: Final: India v Argentina (8pm): Third-Fourth: Pakistan v New Zealand (5.30pm); Fifth-Sixth: Belgium v Canada (3pm).
P W D L F A Pts
ARGENTINA 6 4 2 0 19 8 14
INDIA 6 4 0 2 17 16 12
PAKISTAN 6 3 1 2 18 16 10
NEW ZEALAND 6 3 0 3 14 14 9
BELGIUM 6 2 0 4 15 17 6
CANADA 6 1 2 3 7 12 5
MALAYSIA 6 1 1 4 9 16 4

Argentina 2 Canada 2

HALF-TIME: Argentina 0 Canada 0. Argentina four penalty corners and one penalty stroke, which Juan Ignacio Gilardi took but Canada goalkeeper Mike Mahood save.
Canada, defending, only one penalty corner.

SECOND-HALF: Argentina use second goalkeeper Juan Tomas Espinosa first time in tournament, Juan Martin Lopez receive yellow card.
Argentina take lead in 48th minute, off a solo run and slam from Facundo Callioni and then make it 2-0 in the 60th minute when Ezequiel Martin Sosa scores a field goal.
Canada narrow gap with Sukhwinder Singh penalty corner rebound goal in the 61st minute.
Ravi Kahlon finds the equaliser for Canada in the 69th minute, after receiving a long ball from Sukhwinder.