Friday, May 13, 2016

Razak Cup: Razie power for Police...

NATIONAL skipper Razie Rahim and midfielder Nabil Fiqri are set to play for Police in Division One of the 54th Razak Cup on May 21-29 at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil.
  Razie and Nabil, both stalwarts in the national team, joined Police Inspector's training on May 8 and are supposed to be out of touch with hockey for nine months, but special arrangements have been made for them to play in the Razak Cup.
  Police became the Division Two champions last season, and their promotion to Division One could see them land a medal with a strong cast.
  Three other former internationals Kelvinder Singh, Jivan Mohan and Baljit Singh Sarjab; who have completed their Inspector's trainings; together with former international Megat Azrafiq will be the main pillars of Police again.
  Baljit almost 'single handedly' handed Police the Division Two title and promotion with 17 penalty corner goals last season.
  But this season, they will have Malaysia's No 1 penalty corner flicker and top defender Razie for goals.
  "I have not been informed about Razie and Nabil's situation as they have just joined training and would need a release letter to play in the Razak Cup.
  "However, if they are allowed to play, Police will be able to give a stronger challenge in Division One," said former national coach Gurmit Singh.
  Gurmit, with Sarjit Singh, coached the national squad for the 2008 Kakamigahara Olympic Qualifier.
  Police are in Group A with defending champions Malacca, Johor and Pahang. In Group B are silver medallists Perak, Kuala Lumpur, Negri Sembilan and Terengganu.
  In Division Two, Group A consists of Selangor, Kedah, Perlis and Penang. In Group B are Kelantan, Armed Forces, Sabah and Sarawak.
  The women's Razak Cup will also be held simultaniously, and Polcie are again the 'big winners' as natinal players Farah Ayuni Yahya and Noor Hasliza Ali, who also joined Inspectors training on May 8, will be released to play.
  The women's Group A is made up of Pahang, Sarawak, Police, Johor, Selangor; Group B: Kuala Lumpur, Negri Sembila, Armed Forces, Terengganu, Sabah; Group C: Malacca, Penang, Perak, Kedah.
  The women's Razak Cup will make its debut, in what is actually a name change from the previous Raja Noora Ashikin Cup.

MHC: Report Card by Satwant Dhaliwal

Read part 1 of the Hockey Report Card here