Saturday, August 30, 2014


Merdeka Day D-Day..

FOUR Malaysian’s will face their destiny on Merdeka Day, as they will be strongly challenged for the Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) posts they will be standing for in Kuala Lumpur Sunday.
   While Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah won unopposed as AHF president when nominations closed on Aug 21, MHC vice president’s Nur Azmi Ahmad, S. Shamala, Datuk Nur Azmi Ahmad and Datuk Rahim Ariff will go through the motions.
    The other unopposed winner is incumbent treasurer Fumio Ogura of Japan.
   Tengku Abdullah is also an International Hockey Fed eration (FIH) Executive Board member as well as president of  the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHF).
   Twelve hopefuls will battle for the vice-president’s posts, while  the elections for council members, 10 in total, will see 18 individuals vying for positions.
   “We have been doing our rounds to garner support, and the feedback has been good for all four Malaysian’s,” said Manjit Abdullah.
    Nur Azmi and Shamala have been nominated for the veeps posts, as well as for the council positions with Rahim..
   Shamala and Rahim are incumbent council members.
   Tan Sri P. Alagendra, who has been AHF secretary general for 16 years, will vacate his post as it has been replaced by a CEO position which will be helmed by Tayyab Ikram of Macau.
    Alagendra is expected to be honoured for his contributions Sunday.