Monday, February 17, 2014

A scramble for six ,,

It will be a tough battle for six teams after the draw for the  playoff of the Milo Cup was made at the National Hockey  Stadium following the completion of the league stages of the  Milo Junior Hockey League.
    The top two teams in each of the Second Division pools  qualified to play in the second round where the top four  teams will not only play in the overall championships but also  gain promotion to Division One for next season.
   In Group X is Nur Isafi, Olak-PKT and Bukit Jalil Sports  School while Group Y comprises of MS Pahang, Bakat – MSS  Kelantan and Politeknik KPM. All matches will played at the  National Stadium in Bukit Jalil from February 2-23.
    From the look of things, Group X is a tougher group given  the stature of the teams placed in it.
    “It is a tough draw as only two teams will make the cut for  the quarterfinal. We have drawn the short straw as both Olak  and Nur Insafi are good teams and have shown their ability by  topping their respective pools in Division Two,” said BJSS  coach S. Prakash.
    For Olak-PKT manager Joseph de Silva, there are no  favourite teams in the second round.
    “We need to win to qualify and that is what we intend to do.  It does not matter who we play as all teams that made the cut  for the second round deserve to be there. So there is no such  thing as favourites and the matches are there to be won,” said  Joseph.
    Meanwhile in the final Division One match, UniKL defeated  Anderson 2-0 through a goals by Shafirul Aqmar M. Saiful  (38th minute) and Zulhaziq Hashim ( 68th minute)
   The win meant that Malacca High School took the last  available spot from Division One to move into the quar terfinals for the overall battle for the Milo Cup.
    In other matches,  PH Kota Star  SMK going down to a 1-5  defeat at the hands of Syed Hassan while Matri lost to 1MAS  Penang 3-4, with MSSD Larut Matang Akademi being held to  a 1-1 draw by Felda Temerloh with SM Sain Johor losing 0-6  to BJSS Juniors.
Play Off Draw

Group X
Nur Insafi
Bukit Jalil Sports School

Group Y
Politeknik KPM
Bakat-MSS Kelantan
MS Pahang Juniors

Note:  Matches will be played at Bukit Jalil stadium on Feb  20-23. Top two teams of each pool will join SSTMI Thun derbolts, UniKL Young Guns, Petaling Jaya City Council and  Malacca High School in quarterfinals of Milo Cup.

Roll of Honour

Division One

Champions: SSTMI Thunderbolts (RM15,000)

Runner Up: UniKL Young Guns (RM10,000)

Third: Petaling Jaya City Council (Rm8,000)

Fourth: Malacca High School (RM7,000)

Division Two A

Champion: Nur Insafi (RM5,000)

Runner Up: Bakat-MSS Kelanatan (RM3,000)

Division Two B

Champion: Olak-PKT (RM5,000)

Runner Up: MS Pahang Juniors (RM3,000)

Division Two C

Champions: Politeknik KPM (RM5,000)

Runner Up: Bukit Jalil Sports School (RM3,000)


Division One

UniKL Young Guns 2 Anderson 0

Division Two A

PH Kota Star 1 SMK Syed Hassan 5

Matri 3 1MAS Penang 4

Division Two B

MSSD Larut Matang Akademi 1 Felda Temerloh 1

Division Two C

SM Sain Johor 0 BJSS Juniors 6