Friday, August 7, 2009

Anderson claim 11th title

PERAK'S Anderson claimed their 11th Champion Schools title when they edged Seberang Temerloh of Pahang 2-1 at the Kuala Lumpur HA Stadium yesterday.
Norazmirrul Azman gave them the lead when he scored a field goal in the 28th minute, and then in the 69th minute, Soffian Kamaruddin delivered the second goal also off a field attempt.
Temerloh narowed the gap in the 70th minute, but time was no longer on their side.
"My boys deserve the credit, and now we will be gunning for the Premier Schools title from Sunday onwards," said Anderson coach Mokhtar Baharuddin.
The Premier Schools tournament will be held in Kuantan, with the same teams competing, and Mokhtar feels the standard at this age group is nothingto shout about.
"Except for Temerloh and TBSS (Tunku Besar Secondary School), the rest of the teams are not impressive at this level. And I forsee the same two schools giving us a fight, together with Setapak High who will have fresh legs."
Setapak High will replace St John in the Premier Schools, and Anderson is expected to face a tough time against them to win back-to-back titles.
In the bronze play-off, TBSS of Negri Sembilan beat Khir Johari of Kedah 2-1 with goals from Shahir Arif (first minute) and Fadhirul Yahya (39th). The Khir Johari goal was scored by Anuar Wahab in the 55th minute.
RESULTS: Final -- Anderson (Pk) 2 Seberang Temerloh (Pah) 1; Third-Fourth: Tunku Besar Secondart School (Negri) 2 Khir Johari (Ked) 1; Fifth-Sixth: St John (KL) 3 Sultan Abu Bakar (Joh) 4; Seventh-Eighth: Mutiara Impian (Pg) 6 Hamzah Machang (Kel) 3.