Thursday, May 16, 2013

UiTM have edge over Thunderbolts..

TNB Thunderbolts and UiTM will square off to lay their hands on the President’s Cup this Sunday at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil.
    And in the TNB Cup, the hopefuls are Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC) and Tenaga Nasional, who each have 12 titles under their belts, and will be gunning for the 13th.
    The poorer cousin, President’s Cup, has been in the shadows thus far, as the glamour was stolen by the Premier Division sides for the last two months, but all that is set to change in a fiery final.
   For the record, UiTM will start as the favourites as they edged TNB Thunderbolts in two earlier League encounters by winning 5-4 and then 2-1.
   “We have the Division One League title and also two wins against Thunderbolts after a gruelling season, and don’t aim to stop our momentum in the final on Sunday,” said UiTM assistant manager Fairuz Ahmad.
     In the 12 League matches, UiTM won 10, drew 1 and lost only one. They also scored 43 goals and only let in 16.
     “Yes, we have been consistent in the League and also the knock-out stages, but that does not mean we will take Thunderbolts lightly as the Cup is a different tournament where passion for the trophy will determine who lifts it,” said Fairuz.
   Thunderbolts coach, Lailin Abu Hassa, a former International knows his charges have it uphill: We have a combined team of experience and youth (from Tengku Mahkota Ismail Sports School) and there has been ups and downs as they tried to get used to each other in the initial stages.
    “However, the understanding is there, and we will play to lift the trophy,” said Lailin.
    The top scorer for UiTM is  Nor Nashriq Farhan on 10 penalty corner goals. As for Thunderbolts, Their top penalty corner scorer is Sabri Mohamed on seven goals, while seasoned campaigner Mahinder Singh is their top scorer on eight field goals.
   Meanwhile, fans who make their way to the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil to watch the President’s Cup as well as the TNB Cup are in for a chance to win two motorcycles worth RM5,000 each.
     The two Modenas Passion motorcycles, donated by Edaran Modenas Sdn Bhd, will be given away on lucky draw tickets after the TNB Cup final.
    Entrance to the stadium is free, and 2,000 lucky draw tickets are expected to be given away at the entrance.
    SATURDAY (Third-Fourth): Presdent’s Cup -- Ipoh City Council v Sunday 2030 (6pm); TNB Cup -- Maybank v Sapura (8pm).
    SUNDAY (Finals): Presdent’s Cup -- UiTM v TNB Thunderbolts (6pm); TNB Cup -- Kuala Lumpur HC v Tenaga Nasional (8pm).
    Note: All matches at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil.