Sunday, September 12, 2010

2010 Women's Hokey World Cup

Argentina celebrate victory
Argentina celebrate victory
Argentina celebrate victory
Australia were winners of the Fair Play Award
Maartje PAUMEN (NED) - Top Goal-scorer
Rani RAMPAL (IND) - Young Player of the Tournament
Beth STORRY (ENG) - Goalkeeper of the Tournament
Sadness for The Netherlands
Luciana AYMAR (ARG) - Player of the Tournament
Argentina - 2010 BDO FIH World Cup winners

Argentine women best in world

Host nation Argentina have won the BDO FIH World Cup thanks to a 3-1 victory over The Netherlands. It was a stunning match between the two top ranked teams, but two Carla REBECCHI goals either side of a Noel BARRIONUEVO penalty corner gave Las Leonas victory over the Olympic champions.

It was a stunning night for Las Leonas, who saw their star player Luciana AYMAR named as the player of the tournament. Incredibly, AYMAR was also playing her 300th international match for Argentina, with winning the World Cup being the perfect way to crown the occasion. The best goalkeeper award went to England's Beth STORRY, who helped her side to a Bronze medal earlier in the day thanks to victory over Germany. The best young player award went to India's Rani RAMPAL, while Maartje PAUMEN was given the prize for tournament top goalscorer. Australia were the recepients of the fair play prize.
The match itself was a brilliant encounter between the two best teams in the world. Argentina were clearly inspired by their cheering crowd, going on the offensive from the first moment, and struck the opening goal when Carla REBECCHI fired into the net in only the third minute. Noel BARRIONUEVO netted a second just four minutes later to send the crowd into delerium.

Maartje PAUMEN pulled a goal back ten minutes after half time with a ferocious penalty corner flick that gave Belen SUCCI no chance of saving, hitting the roof of the net at breakneck speed. It was PAUMAN's 11th goal of the tournament, and certainly her most important to date. Argentina won a penalty corner of their own minutes later, but failed to take advantage. However, Argentina were not to be denied a third goal when Carla REBECCHI scored her second of the game, slamming home a volley from a tight angle after Alejandra GULLA hit the post with a diving shot. The goal was greeted with wild cheers and singing from the huge Argentinean following in the stadium, who were really beginning to raise the decibels to unforeseen levels at this event. Arguably the biggest roar of the night came when Belen SUCCI pulled off a stunning penalty corner save to vitually seal victory for Las Leonas. It was a special night not only for Las Leonas, but also for hockey in general, with a huge fireworks display bringing the curtain down on an incredible two weeks of action.

Match 38 - Final 1-2: Netherlands v Argentina 1-3
> Argentina are World Champions for the second time ever and for the first time since their maiden World title in 2002.
> Las Leonas are the third team to win the World Cup as hosts, joining West Germany in 1976 and the Netherlands in 1986.
> Argentina are now on 7 World Cup medals (2 gold – 3 silver – 2 bronze).
> The Netherlands are now on a record 11 World Cup medals (6 gold – 4 silver – 1 bronze).
> Argentina is the first team to beat the Netherlands three times in one year at major tournaments (Olympics, World Cup, Champions Trophy and European Nations Cup).
> Luciana Aymar, Marine Russo, Agustina Soledad Garcia and Claudia Burkart all won a third World Cup medal. They are no on 2 gold (2002, 2010) and one bronze (2006).
> Carla Rebecchi (ARG) scored twice today. She also scored in Argentina’s two Champions Trophy wins over the Netherlands at Nottingham 2010.
> Argentina have opened the score in all 7 of their matches at Rosario 2010.
> Noel Barrionuevo (ARG) scored her 6th PC goal of the tournament to become joint third on the tournament top scorer list trailing Maartje Paumen (11) and Rani Rampal (7).
> Argentina took a 2-0 lead after only 8 minutes. The last time the Dutch were 2 goals down this early in the match was 16 years ago, at the 1994 World Cup, when Germany took a 2-0 lead after only 7 minutes and went on to win 2-1.
> Tournament top scorer Maartje Paumen (NED) lifted her goals total to 12. Only Fieke Boekhorst (NED) has ever scored more goals in a World Cup tournament (13 goals in 1981).
> Maartje Paumen has scored in all 7 of Holland’s matches at Rosario 2010. The last player to score in seven successive World Cup matches was Bianca Langham-Pritchard (AUS) in 1998.
> Minke Smeets (1Gold – 3 Silvers) is now on 4 World Cup medals. The competition record is five medals by Lisette Sevens (3G – 1S – 1B) in the 1970’s and 1980’s.