Sunday, September 25, 2016

Terengganu HT nail treble double...

TERENGGANU Hockey Team claimed their treble double when they beat Sapura 3-0 in the TNB Cup final at the Tun Razak Stadium Sunday.
  The maestro was South Korean Jang Jong Hyun who scored two penalty corner goals to bring his tally to 16 overall for the top-scorers award.
  THT coach Sarjit Singh said: "Winning the League and TNB Cup titles in three consecutive years is not an easy task, but with solid backing from the management and our supporters, we made it a proud moment for them."
  Terengganu have a sound development programme, and this win would further boost hockey in the state.
  "We have many upcoming players in the state, and by winning the treble double, it would further boost hockey in the state," said Sarjit.
  THT tore apart the Sapura midfield in the first quarter and the absence of national player Marhan Jalil was sorely felt, after he suffered an ankle injury in the TNB Cup Semi-finals Second Leg.
  Sapura had no answer to the fast attacking THT forwardline, and in the sixth minute off their second penalty corner, top-scorer Jang Jong Hyun of South Korea sounded the board with a low push to the East Coast side the lead.
  It was Jang's 15th goal of the season for THT, singling him out as the best foreign buy in the Malaysia Hockey League.
  And in the 22nd minute THT's Argentina import Nicolas Enrique scored a field goal off an acute angle to consolidate their position going into the breather.
  It was the sixth goal for the Argentinian.
  Jang the Korean import delivered yet again in the 51st minute off a penalty corner, to seal the match for THT. Terengganu supporters who came with two buses, aptly waved the South Korean as well as the Terengganu flags wildly at the stadium.
   In the Division One President's Cup final, TNB Thunderbolts hammered Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI) 7-2 for the title.
  The TNB Thunderbolts goals were scored by Akhimullah Anuar (third, 30th), Nursyahmi Zukifli (11th), Kamil Yusop (14th, 27th), Idris Samad (48th), Izham Azhar (53rd).
  The SSTMI goals were scored by Zulhamizan Awang in the 11th and 36th minutes.
  And in the Vivian Soars Cup, Police, naming themselves Blue Warriors, beat SSTMI 2-1 for the inaugural title.
  The Warriors took a 2-0 lead off Aida Fazriniza Zakaria (19th) and Noor Hasliza Ali (30th) before SSTMI fought back with a goal from Siti Shahidah Saad (49th) but time ran out for them.
  RESULTS: TNB Cup Final: Terengganu HT 3 Sapura 0.
  President's Cup Final: SSTMI 2 TNB Thunderbolts 7.
  Vivian Soars Cup Final: Blue Warriors 2 SSTMI 1.