Sunday, April 20, 2014

Razie Rahim to be tested...

NOTE: To those who were offended when I posted the Malaysian team list from the FIH CC1 website, here is shit on your ugly face...It was a public document, and after years of experience I know there will be a few changes right up to the managers meeeting, and that is why I did not write a story in the NST but just posted the FIH website Malaysian name list.
   Also George Koshy was a Korean on the website, I tweeted to FIH to change it, not officials from MHC.

MALAYSIA'S No 1 penalty corner flicker Razie Rahim was named among the 21 players for the Champions Challenge 1 in Kuantan from April 26-May 4.
   Razie, 26, who underwent surgery on Feb 18 after dislocating his left shoulder while playing for Mumbai Magicians in the Hockey India League on Feb 4, will be tested in the two friendlies against France on Tuesday and Poland on Thursday before confirming his place in the squad.
    "We have shortlisted 21 players, and Razie is among them. He will play in the two friendlies against France and Poalnd, and if he feels he is ready, and we get the green-light from the medical side, he will feature in the Champions Challenge," said team manager George Koshy.
   Missing from the list were defender Baljit Singh and No 2 goalkeeper Roslan Jamaluddin, who are both still nursing injuries.
   Roslan will be replaced by juniors goalkeeper Hafizuddin Othman, who had a good game in the Azlan Shah Cup where Malaysia finished second behind Australia.
    Baljit will be replaced by Kevin Lim, 27, who will make his debut for Malaysia after playing in Germany, while Ismail Abu has also been included after being on the sidelines for years.
   The final 18 will only be named in Kuantan.
   Malaysia are in Group B and play France on May 26, followed by South Korea (May 27) and Canada (May 29).
   In Group A are New Zealand, Poland, Japan and Ireland.
   SHORLISTED: S. Kumar (gk), Hafizuddin Othman (gk), Azlan Misron, Kevin Lim, Izad Hakimi, Shukri Mutalib, Ahmad Kazamirul, Faiz Helmi, Azri Hassan, Fitri Shaari, Marhan Jalil, Ramadan Rosli, Nabil Fiqri, Shahrun Nabil, Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin, Faizal Saari, Shahril Saabah, Ismail Abu, Rashid Baharom, Firhan Ashaari, Razie Rahim.