Thursday, December 15, 2011

R.I.P. MHF, but not for long..

By Jugjet Singh,my

THE Malaysian Hockey Federation (MHF) will cease to exist after delegates meet on Saturday to vote in the Malaysian Hockey Confederation (MHC) at an Extra Ordinary General Meeting in Kuala Lumpur.
And the Malaysian Women’s Hockey Association (MWHA) will meet a similar fate, when they are dissolved on Dec 31.
The MHF have a long and illustrious history, and together with the Amateur Athletics Union of Malaya (AAUM), they formed the Federation of Malaya Olympic Council.
The MHF and AAUM met at the PWD Sports Club in Cheras on Aug 15 1953, and after 35 minutes, the Olympic Council was officially formed.
“After the EOGM, we will send a report to the Sports Commissioner’s office and by January, the MHC should officially be formed by merging with the MWHA,” said MHF general manager Maninderjit Singh.
The Malayan Hockey Council was officially formed in 1947 in Kuala Lumpur when delegates from Penang, Perak, Selangor, Negri Sembilan, Malacca, Johor and Singapore met and Singapore HA President Sir George E.N. Oehlers formally proposed:
“That a body governing the game of Hockey in the Federation of Malaya and in the Colony of Singapore be formed and that such a body be called the Malayan Hockey Council”.
Sir George was elected the first president.
The Malayan Hockey Federation, with Singapore opting out, was formed in 1954 with Herman Marie De Souza as president and Kandiah Aryaduray as secretary.
Sir Gerald Templer and Sir Donald Mac Gillivray, the High Commisioner of the Federation of Malaya, were the Patrons.
And the first international assignment for the hockey team was the 1956 Melbourne Olympics, with the best finish in the 1975 KL World Cup where Malaysia finished fourth.
“In recognition of services rendered by both officials from MHF and MWHA, a dinner will be held somewhere in January where former officials and office bearers will be invited to attend in appreciation,” said Maninderjit Singh.
The hockey body has seen changes from Malayan Hockey Council to Malayan Hockey Federation to Malaysian Hockey Federation.
And will now be called the Malaysian Hockey Confederation.
Presidents of MHF from 1957 to current:
1 Tun Abdul Razak (1957-1976)
2 Sultan Azlan Shah (1976-2004)
3 Raja Nazrin Shah (2004-2006)
4 Admiral Tan Sri Mohammad Anwar (Dec 19 2006-Nov 1 2008)
5 Tengku Abdullah Sultan Ahmad Shah (Nov 1 2008-current).