Friday, March 2, 2018

Police win shoot-out...

KUALA LUMPUR: Blue Warriors beat PKS-UniTen-KPT 3-1 in a shoot-out after both teams ended tied 2-2 in the Vivian May Soars Cup at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil Friday.
  Both the UniTen goals were scored by national players Raja Norsharina Raja Shabuddin (seventh) and Fatin Shafika Sukri (44th).
  But Blue Warriors came back into the picture with a late goal by  former India skipper Ritu Rani in the 56th minute, while Siti Zulaikha nailed a 60th minute equaliser to take the match into shoot-out.
  UniTen had won the Malaysia Hockey League (MHL) League title but national goalkeeper Farah Ayuni snatched the other title for Blue Warriors with superb saves in the shoot-out.
  Blue Warriors coach Zulkhairi Ariffin said: "It was a real heart-stopper as we had to defend for at least 55 minutes before we could score both the goals.
  "But in the end, it is a great day for Police (Blue Warriors) as we managed to snatch one title from UniTen. Hiring guest players from India also paid off handsomely," said Zulkhairi.
  As for UniTen coach Lailin Abu Hassan, the moment it went to a shoot-out he knew the outcome,
  "Blue Warriors have the best goalkeeper in the country and when it went to shoot-out I knew the outcome.
  "But still, I am proud of my girls achievements because last season we did not win any title and did not even play in the final.
  "There is vast improvement this season, and I believe we will only return stronger next year," said Lailin, a former national player.
  In the bronze medal, Terengganu Ladies hammered the daylights out of KL Wipers with a 10-0 score.
  The goals were scored by Siti Rahmah Othman (third), Fazillah Sylvester Silin (fifth), Nur Hidayah Ismail (21st, 58th), Siti Noor Amarina (30th), 
Norazlin Sumantri (33rd, 34th), Pahila Judith Larissa (50th), Nur Syuhada Suhaimi (59th), Nur Syafiqah Zain (60th).
  RESULTS: Vivian May Soars Cup: Final -- PKS-UniTen-KPT 2 Blue Warriors 2 (Blue Warriors win shoot-out 3-1).
  Third-Fourth: KL Wipers 0 Terengganu Ladies 10.

Women's Asian Champions Trophy

Women’s Asian Champions Trophy 13 to 20 May 2018 - Donghae City, Korea


Day 1: Sunday, 13 May 2018 M01 14:30 Pool India v Japan M02 16:30 Pool Korea v Malaysia 
Day 2: Monday, 14 May 2018 M03 14:30 Pool China v Malaysia M04 16:30 Pool Korea v Japan 
Day 3: Tuesday, 15 May 2018 – Rest Day 
Day 4: Wednesday, 16 May 2018 M05 14:30 Pool Japan v Malaysia M06 16:30 Pool India v China 
Day 5: Thursday, 17 May 2018 M07 14:30 Pool Malaysia v India M08 16:30 Pool Korea v China 
Day 6: Friday, 18 May 2018 – Rest Day
Day 7: Saturday, 19 May 2018 M09 13:00 Pool China v Japan M10 15:00 Pool India v Korea 
Day 8: Sunday, 20 May 2018 M11 12:45 3/4th Place 3 rd in Pool v 4 th in Pool M12 15:00 Final 1 st in Pool v 2 nd in Pool.

AZLAN SHAH CUP: Malaysia wary of Stout Irish...

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia will meet Ireland in the curtain raiser of the Azlan Shah Cup in Ipoh Saturday, and coach Stephen van Huizen does not want an Antwerp repeat.
  Back in 2015, Malaysia had beaten Ireland 4-2 in the group stages of the World League semifinals in Belgium, but when it mattered most, they lost 4-1 in the Fifth-Sixth Classification match and the Irish qualified for their first hockey Olympics since 1908. 
  The other teams in Ipoh are Olympic champions Argentina, World Cup holders Australia, Asia Cup champions India and England.
   Van Huizen, 60, still remembers the agony of missing the Rio de Janeiro Olympics by a whisker.
  And three years later, they meet again in Ipoh.
  "We beat them in the group stage, but lost the crucial classification match and since then, Ireland has grown much stronger and are ranked 10th in the World," said van Huizen.
  Malaysia last played in the Sydney 2000 Olympics.
  "Ireland also won bronze in the EuroHockey Championships (in 2015 by shocking England), but then, I have told my players not to focus on their achievements, but look at our own strengths.
  "Both Malaysia and Ireland are in a team-building stage for many tournaments this year. We hope to not only gain a good result, but a good experience as well from this match."
  SATURDAY: Argentina v India (4pm), Australia v England (6pm), Malaysia v Ireland (8.30pm).
  Note: All matches at Azlan Shah Stadium in Ipoh.