Friday, January 20, 2012

UniKL beat TBSS 4-0

LEAGUE champions UniKL Young Guns beat Tunku Besar Secondary School (TBSS) of Tampin 4-0 for their second consecutive win in Division One of the Milo-Junior Hockey League at the Seremban II Stadium yesterday.
UniKL had edged Petaling Jaya Municipal Council 2-1 on Thursday.
However the double aspirants still played well below their standard yesterday, and it was defensive errors by TBSS defenders which gifted them the first two goals.
They took the lead in the eighth minute off Taufik Hamid and ten minutes later doubled their advantage when Hafiz Zainol found the back of the net after the ball had struck umpire Rosdi Pilus and caught the TBSS defence flatfooted.
The other goals were scored by Fahed Saifullah (44th) and Zulhannan Mazlan (50th).
“My players could not get used to the pitch conditions and could not score during penalty corners, while the forwards still keep muffing sitters.
“The one week break will give us an opportunity to work on these areas and despite the not scoring convincing wins in our first two matches, the six points would go a long way in our quest for a double this season,” said UniKL team manager Amir Azhar.
In Division Two Group A, Sapura were impressive when they bulldozed Anderson Juniors 5-1 at the Sultan Azlan Shah Stadium in Ipoh.
Sapura, who made their JHL debut this season, had beaten USM Juniors 5-0 on Thursday.
Two Division Two Group B matches had to be called off yesterday, after torrential rain in Kuala Lumpur forced the KL Sports School and Olak-PKT match to be abandoned after 13 minutes, while the Yayasan Pahang and Datuk Taha match was called off in Pahang for the same reason.
RESULTS: Division One -- TBSS 0 UniKL 4, MBI Anderson x USM-MSSPP x.
Division Two (A): Politeknik KPT 1 Kedah HA Jr 2, Nur Insafi 3 KHA-MSNK 2, Anderson Jr 1 Sapura 5, MSSPP-USM Jr 5 PHNS 0.
Division Two (B): Yayasan Pahang v Datuk Taha (rained off), KLSS v Olak-PKT (rained off).
TODAY: Division One -- Thunderbolt vs SSBJ (Taman Daya I, 5pm), SSTMI vs SSBJ Jr (Taman Daya II, 5pm), TBSS vs MBPJ (Seremban II, 5pm).
Division Two (A): PHK-MSSK vs PHNS (Azaln Shah, 5pm).
Division Two (B): KLSS vs MPBP (KLHA, 5pm), Padang Midin vs Datuk Taha (Terengganu, 5pm), Olak-PKT vs Malac ca HS (Bukit Jalil, 5pm).

Britain for Azlan Shah Cup

Pic: Kelvinder Singh gets a break Down Under against Australia and Netherlands.

THE AZLAN Shah Cup will see seven teams, with Olympic hosts Great Britain being the highest ranked, battling it out on the country’s first blue pitch from May 24 to June 3.

And if Malaysia, ranked 13th, make the cut via the Olympic Qualifier in Dublin on March 10-18, the Azlan Shah Cup will be a fantastic tune-up as the Olympics will be held in July.
Among the Azlan Shah Cup invitees, Britain (fourth), New Zealand (seventh), Pakistan (eighth) and Argentina (ninth) have already qualified for the Olympics, while India (10th), Malaysia and South Korea (sixth) will be involved Qualifiers early this year.
The Olympics will also be held on a blue pitch, making the Azlan Shah Cup a much sought after invitation this year.
Malaysia, who just played a five-series friendlies with China, have trimmed the squad to 22 players, and will send 21 Down Under to play four friendlies with Australia and two with the Netherlands from Jan 29.
There were no surprises, as the only addition from the Champions Challenge I squad for the friendlies was Kelvinder Singh who replaced Azammi Adabi.
The rest are regular faces, while Azammi will return to the training squad when the players return from their Tour.
MALAYSIA -- S. Kumar Subramiam , Roslan Jamaluddin, Nabil Fiqri, Amin Rahim, Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin, Faizal Saari, Shahrun Nabil, Madzli Ikmar, Razie Rahim, Marhan Jalil, Sukri Mutalib, Baljit Singh, Hafifihafiz Hanafi, Azlan Misron, Izwan Firdaus, Azreen Rizal, Firhan Ashaari, Kevinder Singh, Fitri Saari , Amir Farid, Izzat Rahim.