Friday, February 26, 2016

Perlis Lions edge TBSS Tampin 4-3 for quarters...

PERLIS Young Lions Juniors came back from a goal down to beat TBSS Tampin 4-3 and qualify for the quarter-finals of the TNB CUP on March 4.
  The four teams from Division Two which qualified for the quarter-finals after the play-off are Anderson Thunderbolts, BJSS Juniors, Sabah Sports School and Perlis Young Lions Juniors.
  Tomorrow, BJSS will play against Anderson in the final while the other two teams will play in a third-fourth classification.
  Anderson and BJSS Juniors also qualified to play in Division One next year, while Nur Insafi and SSTMI Juniors were relegated.
  From Division One, SSTMI Thunderbolts, BJSS Thunderbolts, SSP-MSP Thunderbolts and UniKL Young Guns qualified for the last eight action.
  TBSS, needing only a draw to play in the quarter-finals, took the lead off V. Vengadeswaran in the 12th minute, but Perlis played their hearts out and won the grueling battle.
  The other TBSS goals were scored by Aiman Shahmi (37th) and Farhan Zain (50th)
  While Perlis got their goals off Faiz Nasri (20th), Nur Hakin Bakri (34th), Syawal Najmi (42nd) and the winner was delivered by Syukur Abu Bakar in the 63rd minute.
  In a Group X match, Sabah Sports School hammered Penang MSSP-USM 8-3 to finish second and qualify for the quarter-finals. Sabah will now play in the third-fourth classification match against xxx.
  RESULTS: Group X: Sabah Sports School 8 Penang MSSP-USM 3; Group Y: TBSS Tampin 3 Perlis Young Lions Juniors 4.
  GIRLS JHL -- Group A: SSTMI Thunderbolts 9 SMK Tun Hussein Onn 0, Southern Girls 0 Sabah Sports School 2, SMK Za'aba 0 Selangor Girls 0.
  Group B: MSN Kedah 9 YP-MSP-PHP 0, SMKGR Highlanders 2 MSNT-SMKPM 5, Kuala Lumpur Wipers 17 SMK Sultan Ibrahim 0.
  TOMORROW: JHL Division Two play-off: Final -- Anderson Thunderbolts v BJSS Juniors (7pm); Third-Fourth: Sabah v Perlis (5pm).
  Note: Both matches at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil. 


           P  W  D  L  F   A  Pts
ANDERSON   2  2  0  0  15  5   6
SABAH      2  1  0  1   12 8   3
PENANG     2  0  0  2   4 18   0


             P  W  D  L  F   A  Pts
BJSS JNRS    2  1  1  0  5   4   4
PERLIS       2  1  0  1  7   7   3
TBSS TAMPIN  2  0  1  1  4   5   1