Sunday, May 30, 2010

UniKL zap Thunderbolt!

UNIKL shocked favourites Bandar Penawar Sports School Thunderbolt 2-1
to be crowned the MHF-Milo-NSC Junior Hockey League Overall
champions at the Tun Razak Stadium yesterday.
Runners-up in the league, UniKL showed great composure to wait for
the right moments to mount counter attacks, and it was their second giant
killing feat after beating Bukit Jalil Sports School in the semi-finals.
UniKL received RM20,000 while runners-up Thunderbolt RM10,000.
"It was a super display from my players, and a coach can't ask for more
from his players who finished runners-up in the League and Overall
champions in their first JHL season itselt," said UniKL coach I.
Thunderbolt coach Wan Roslan Rahman was disappointed with the
outcome: "We missed too many sitters and paid the price for it. However,
overall, it has been the most successful season for us."
The first half turned out to be a drab affair, with both sides missing
sitters and play was concentrated in the midfield.
Thunderbolt won two penalty corners, but both were wasted when the
stopper failed to make a dead stop, and the second one cost them a goal.
It was in the 31st minute, and Thunderbolt's bothced penalty corner was
turned into a counter attack by UniKL players, and Amir Farid tucked in
the ball from close range and then held onto the lead until the breather.
Thunderbolt were the more agressive side after the breather, and in the
41st minute, a penalty corner was turned into a penalty stroke after it hit a
defender's body.
National senior team player Faizal Saari stepped up to the spot and beat
goalkeeper Shahrul Azadin to throw a life-line to the League champions.
Thunderbolt took control of the match after that and had plenty of
chances to seal the match, but a diving Faizal and bungling forwards saw
the score remain tied.
However UniKL, who were contended with defending, finally mounted a
serious attack in the 61st minute, and Aminuddin Abu gave them the lead
again with a field attempt.
And the JHL newcomers played gallantly after that to hold onto the lead,
and become the Overall champions in their first attempt itself.
Meanwhile, in the bronze medal decider, Bukit Jalil Sports School
(BJSS) beat Petaling Jaya City Council (PJCC) with goals from Ahmad
Termidzi (11th, 45th), Fahed Saifulah (51st), Kavin Kartik (64th), and
Faridzul Afiq (67th).
The PJCC goal were scored by Hafiz Nawi in the 59th minute.
BJSS received RM7,000, while PJCC took home RM5,000 for finishing
ROLL-OF-HONOUR: Best player of the Tournament: Firhan Ashaari
(Thunderbolt); Best Player of the Final: Aminuddin Abu (UniKL); Best
Goalkeepeer: Hazrul Faiz (BJSS); Top Scorer: Faizal Saari (Thunderbolt,
16 goals); Fairplay: Kelantan.
FINAL: Bandar Penawar Sports School Thunderbolt 1 UniKL 2; Third-
Fourth: Petaling Jaya City Council 1 Bukit Jalil Sports School 5.