Friday, January 24, 2014

JHL pretenders whipped..

THE Junior Hockey League Division One title battle is again set to be between UniKL Young Guns and SSTMI Thunderbolts who both had thumping wins in Friday’s matches.
   Defending champions Thunderbolts whipped pretenders Petaling Jaya City Council 6-0 at the Taman Daya Stadium in Johor Baru, while UniKL hammered Malacca High School 5-0 at the Malacca Stadium.
   However, both the teams were still not strong in penalty corners, as UniKL failed to score a single goal from the 10 the won, while Thunderbolts coach Wan Roslan Wan Rahman also rued their missed penalty corners.
   “We had many penalty corners, but failed to score and this is cause for worry. And in the match today (yesterday) we held a 2-0 lead in the first half, and only our fitness was what produced the second half four goals.
    “PJCC are a good side, but their fitness let them down. Now it looks like we will fight for the title with UniKL again this season,” said Wan Roslan.
     The Thunderbolts goals were scored by Najmi Farizal Jazlan (37th, 51st, 67th),  Amirol Aideed (35th), Sufi Ismat (37th) and Danial Ashraf (47th).
   “Although we scored five, we wasted ten penalty corners and that is really a big concern to us,” said UniKL coach Rodhanizam Radzi.
    For UniKL, the goal-scorers were Jamil Johari Ghazali (fifth), Ikwan Ishak (32nd), Hafif Elkan (37th, 66th), Haikal Zamry (51st).
    RESULTS: Division One: SSTMI Thunderbolts 6 Petaling Jaya CC 0; Malacca HS 0 UniKL Young Guns 5.
    Division 2A: 1MAS Penang 1 Nur Insafi 3.
    Division 2B: 1MAS Perak 5 KLSS Juniors 0; MSSD Larut Matang-Selama 1 Olak-PKT 5.
   Division 2C: SM Sains Johor 1 SMK Datuk Taha 1; BJSS Juniors 1 Politeknik KPM 4.
   SATURDAY -- Division One: SSTMI Juniors v Petaling Jaya CC (5pm, Taman Daya); Anderson MBI v KL Sports School Juniors (7pm, Azlan Shah Stadium).
   Division Two A: Bakat MSSK v MSSP-USM (5pm, Pasir Mas).
   Division Two B: 1MAS Perak v Olak-PKT (5pm, Azlan Shah Stadium), Permatang Jnrs v MSSD Larut Matang (5pm, Permatang).
   Division Two C: SMK Datuk Bentara Luar v SMK Datuk Taha (5pm, Batu Pahat), BJSS Jnrs v Politeknik KPM (5pm, Ministry of Education).