Friday, March 7, 2014

Thunderbolts-UniKL Milo Cup final..

UNIKL Young Guns will meet SSTMI Thunderbolts in the final of the Junior Hockey League Milo Cup this Sunday.
   Yesterday in the second leg semi-finals, UniKL beat Petaling Jaya City Council 2-1 for a 7-3 aggregate win, while SSTMI Thunderbolts beat Olak-PKT 8-0 for a 14-1 aggregate win.
   For the record, Thunderbolts beat UniKL 4-1 in the league, and the Johor Sports School hold the edge as they gun for their third consecutive JHL double.
     The UniKL goals were scored by Zizi Azwan in the eight minute, while skipper Nor Azrul Rahman scored off a penalty stroke in the 61st minute. The PJCC goal was scored by Zulaniq Adib in the 70th minute.
    And the Thunderbolts avalanche was scored by Danial Asyraf (11th), Ammar Zahan (18th, 34th), Zulhamizan Awang (33rd, 36th, 42nd), Aminuddin Zain (31st), Amirol Aidded (58th).
    UniKL coach Rodhanizah Radzi said: "We played much better in the first leg, and the boys took it easy in the return but still we won and now we have a chance to avenge our League defeat to them on Sunday."
    Rodhanizam, a former national palyer, feels his charges are better prepared after going through the quarters and semis.
   "We had a problem of scoring from penalty corners in the League and thats why we lost to Thunderbolts (4-1) in the League. But my players have overcome that problem in the knock-out stages and we are better prepared to face Thunderbolts in the Milo Cup final," said Rodhanizam.
    Thunderbolts coach Wan Roslan Rahman was elated with his team's 14-goal spree in the semis.
    "We expected to win against Olak and move into the final, but scoring 14 goals in the process showed that my players are primed to go for their third consecutive JHL double."
   RESULTS -- Milo Cup semi-finals (second leg): SSTMI Thunderbolts 8 Olak-PKT 0 (Thunderbolts win on 14-1 aggregate); UniKL Young Guns 2 Petaling Jaya City Council 1 (UniKL win on 7-2 aggregate).
   SUNDAY: Final -- UniKL Young Guns v SSTMI Thunderbolts (6pm); Third-Fourth: Olak-PKT v Petaling Jaya City Council (4pm). Both matches at Pitch I and II of the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil.