Thursday, July 21, 2011

Only one win to show

THE Project 2013 players played five matches against England Juniors and won one, drew one and lost three.

First Match - Drew 2-2
Second Match - Won 3-2
Third Match - Lost 1-4
Fourth Match - Lost 2-5
Fifth Match - Lost 2-5

Perak gunning for Razak Cup

PERAK last won the Razak Cup in 1992, and 19 years later, they are hoping to lay their hands on the Division One title in the 49th Edition starting in Malacca tomorrow.
The tournament will see eight teams in Division One and the same number in Division Two gunning for glory.
Perak, the reigning silver medallists, are in Group B with Pahang, Terengganu and Malacca.
Defending champions Kuala Lumpur are in Group A with Johor, Armed Forces and Penang.
“We have the players to reach the final, where the likely hurdle awaiting us will be Kuala Lumpur. However, even after playing KL in the Qualifier, we only have a vague idea of their true strength,” said Perak coach Manjit Singh.
This is because in the Qualifier, KL were without their national player in the first leg, while in the return leg, KL did not have their national juniors with them.
The same situation plagued Perak: “We have the full squad now, but have never trained together because most of them were called up for national duty.”
The four senior national players with Perak are goalkeeper Roslan Jamaluddin, Azlan Misron, Shukri Mutalib and HafiFi Hanafi,
And they can also rely on five Project 2013 players who returned yesterday from a Europe Tour where they played Netherlands and England.
“We will only leave for Malacca tomorrow (today) and the full squad will assemble for a day before we play Pahang. That should be three points for us, while the second match on Sunday will decide who tops Group B,” said Manjit.
Manjit was speaking about hosts Malacca, who had a roller-coaster ride during the South Zone Qualifier.
Meanwhile, in Division two, Group A is made up of Project 2017, Selangor, Perlis and Kelantan. In Group B are Sarawak, Negri Sembilan, Sabah and Kedah.
The Razak Cup, incepted in 1963 where Singapore won the title, has been unkind to Perak who have only lifted the trophy in 1966, 1973, 1985, 1987 and 1992.