Sunday, February 23, 2014

Politeknik-KPM claim Division Two title...

DIVISION One champions SSTMI Thunderbolts will meet MSP-Pahang in the Milo Cup quarter-finals after the draw was conducted at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil yesterday.
   The quarter-finals will be played on a home-and-away format on Feb 28 and March 2, and the second last eight will be between Malacca High School and Olak-PKT.
    The other quarters will be between Petaling Jaya Minicipal Council and Bukit Jalil Sports School (BJSS), while UniKL Young Guns are expected to face a tough time against Politeknik-KPM.
   In the final of the Division Two playoffs yesterday, Politeknik-KPM lifted the title when they beat BJSS 2-1. Politeknik-KPM drew first blood in the 14th minute when Ashran Hamsani scored a penalty corner rebound, but BJSS drew level in the 25th minute off a Fakhri Ardillah field goal.
   However, Ashram Hamsani scored the winner for Politeknik-KPM off a penalty corner attempt in the 69th minute.
   Meanwhile, Olak-PKT beat MSP-Pahang 2-1 to finish third in the Division Two playoffs.
   And the good news for them was that their sponsors PKT, a logistics company based in Klang, has promised to reward the Olak boys with a trip to Bali, Indonesia.
   "Our sponsors PKT were delighted that we will be back in Division One after being out since 2009, and have pledged to send my players for a rewarding trip to Bali in Indonesia," said Olak-PKT team manager Joseph de Silva.
   Norhafizi Aris scored for Olak-PKT in the 21st minute, while Zabad Rosly made it 2-0 in the 54th minute. MSP-Pahang tried to make a comeback with a goal from Syafiq Sharudin in the 57th minute, but the clock died on them.
    RESULTS: Final -- Politeknik-KPM 2 Bukit Jalil Sports School 1; Third-Fourth: Olak-PKT 2 MSP-Pahang 1.
  MILO Cup -- Quarter-finals first leg: Feb 28: SSTMI Thunderbolts v MSP Pahang, Malacca High School v Olak-PKT, Petaling Jaya Municipal Council v Bukit Jalil Sports School, UniKL Young Guns v Politeknik-KPM.

BJSS scrape into final...

BUKIT Jalil Sports School (BJSS) will play Politeknik-KPM in the final of the Division Two play-offs at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil Sunday.
   BJSS, Politeknik-KPM, Old La Sallians Association of Klang (Olak-PKT) and MSP-Pahang also qualified to play in Division One next season.
   Yesterday, BJSS beat Nur Insafi 5-2, while Politeknik-KPM beat MSP-Pahang 5-0 to qualify for the final. The Politeknik-KPM goals were scored  by Ain A. Rahman (14th, 24th),  Kamarul Ariffin Kamaruddin (19th),  Ashran Hamsani ( 45th), Khairuddin Ramlan (57th).
   BJSS, who were relegated to Division Two last year, were elated with the comeback.
   "We reached our target of re-claiming our Division One spot, and even though the final tomorrow (today) is expected to be tough for us, my boys are ready to give their best," said BJSS coach S. Prakash.
    Needing to win by three clear goals to pip Olak-PKT, BJSS went into the lead in the 8th minute through Mahathir Rathuwan.
   But Nur Insafi was not going to make it easy and drew level in the 18th minute via Izaidi Ismail.
   However goals from Norshahrezan Mat Jusoh (25th, 33rd), Fakhri Ardillah Saifullah (48th, 61st) gave them a 5-1 lead.
   Nur Insafi tried to upset the formbook, but could only score one more off  NurMushawwir Hrsikesa Thaitchana in the 51st minute.
   BJSS earned RM2,000 as Group X champions with Olak-PKT receiving RM1,500 as runner-up.
  In Group Y, Politeknik-KPM collected RM2,000 and MSP-Pahang received RM1,500.
   RESULTS: BJSS 5 Nur Insafi 2, Politeknik-KPM 5 MSP-Pahang 0.
   SUNDAY: Final -- Politeknik-KPM v Bukit Jalil Sports School (7pm); Third-Fourth: Olak-PKT v MSP-Pahang (5pm). Both matches at the National Stadium II in Bukit Jalil.