Friday, February 27, 2015

Thunder.. Thunder.. Thunderbolts!

SSTMI Thunderbolts claimed their fourth straight Division One league title when they beat SSP -MSP-Thunderbolts 3-1 in the MHC-Milo-NSC Junior Hockey League at the Taman Daya Stadium in Johor Baru Friday.
  UniKL earned the second spot when they drew 1-1 with Petaling Jaya Municipal Council. Thunderbolts ended with 22 points, UniKL 19 points while PJCC had 18 points when the dust settled.
  However Thunderbolts, whose only blemish this season was a 2-2 draw with PJCC, received an early wake-up call when SSP -MSP-Thunderbolts took the lead off Idris Samad in the sixth minute when he flicked home off a penalty corner attempt.
  But Firdaus Omar drew level off a penalty corner goal in the ninth minute, while field goals from Luqman Hakim (34th) and Danial Asyraf (65th) made sure the silverware remains with the double champions.
  Now, coach Wan Roslan Wan Rahman wants his charges to life the Milo Cup as well.
  "We received a jolt in the sixth minute, but I never doubted that my players will fail in the final hurdle today (yesterday) and they recovered nicely to score three goals and defend our title.
  "The scoreline does not reflect the match, as my players were guilty of missing many sitters. However, now that we have lifted one title, we will be going for our fourth consecutive double as well when the Milo Cup starts," said Wan Roslan.
  For UniKL Rauf Nazri delivered off a penalty corner attempt in the 27th while ashraf zuhry (52nd) scored the equaliser off a penalty corener goal as well.
  Thunderbolts, UniKL, PJCC and Pahang SS have qualified for the knockout Milo Cup. Four more teams will join them from Division Two.
  RESULTS: Division One: SSTMI Thunderbolts 3 SSP-MSP-Thunderbolts 1, PJCC 1 UniKL Young Guns 1, SSTMI Juniors 3 Bukit Jalil SS 3.
 Division Two playoffs: 1 Mas TBSS Tampin 2 BJSS Jrs 2; 1 Mas Perlis x SMKDBKL PHJ x.
 Saturday -- DIVISION One: Politeknik Malaysia v BJSS (Taman Daya I), SSTMI Juniors v  KLHC (Taman Daya II).
  Division Two Playoffs: BJSS Juniors v Nur Insafi-Penang Hockey (National Stadium II), SMKDBL PHJ v MSN-THT (National Stadium II, 6.45pm).
  Note: All other matches 4.45pm.