Sunday, September 9, 2012

KLHC hammer UniKL 8-1

Defending champions KL Hockey Club were hardly stretched as the registered their fourth consecutive win in the TNB Malaysian Hockey League Premier Division by hammering UniKL 8-1 at the National Hockey Stadium.
  It was a match between David and Goliath as KLHC ran rings around the youngsters of UniKL. But with a virtual national line up in KLHC, such a scoreline was to be expected.
  KLHC opened scoring in the 14th minute through Ismail Abu. And six minutes later Nabil Fiqri Mohd Nor doubled the advantage for the defending champions.
  UniKL were stunned as they were forced to chase the ball with KLHC opting to move the ball around, showing the superior skills as Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin Tg Jalil, Ismail, and Kevinder Singh making inroads by creating openings.
   And when KLHC were awarded a penalty corner in the 27th minute, Mohd Razie Abdul Rahim made no mistake to make it 3-0 in their favour.
   UniKL managed to reduce the deficit in the 39th minute when skipper Mohd Noor Faeez Ibrahim drove home a penalty corner. But any hopes of a revival were doused when KLHC scored two quick goals.
   Ismail got his second of the night, and KLHC's fourth in the 40th minute before Mohammad Amerullah Abdul Aziz extended the lead to 5-1 by scoring in the 44th minute.
   Harvinder made it 6-1 in the 51st minute. Though Haziq Shamsul was put through with only keeper Roslan Jamaluddin to beat in the 60th minute, he sent the ball wide.
   After that it was a case of scoring as will as Amerullah ( 66th minute) and Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin Ab Jalil ( 68th minute) completed the rout.

Tenaga edge Sapura

Tenaga Nasional were stretched to the limit by Sapura before registering a 1-0 win in a Premier Division of the TNB Malaysian Hockey League match at the National Hockey Stadium.
   And at the Sultan Azlan shah Stadium, Maybank came back from a goal down to register a 6-2 win over Nur Insafi Perak.
    It was a vital win for TNB as they will be up against defending champions KL Hockey Club in their final round one match and cannot afford to drop points as they were held to a 2-2 draw by Maybank in the opening match.
   TNB were awarded a penalty corner in the 4th minute but the attempt by Faisal Saari was well padded away by Sapura custodian Khairulnizam Ibrahim.
   The flamboyant Faisal was not in his usual self, perhaps affected by the close marking of Jivan Mohan and his strike partner Mohd Firhan Ashaari also could not get the better of Jiwa Mohan.
   With the kep players shackled, Sapura made many forays into the TNB half and Mohd Sallehin Abdul Ghani was instrumental in keeping them at bay with his timely tackles, ably supported by Mohd Madzli Ikmar.
   TNB were awarded a second penalty corner in the 27th minute and this time Faisal opted to go low but Khairulizwan showed quick reflexes to turn the ball past the upright.
  Sapura were unfortunate not to have taken the lead in the 31st minute as Lee Jun Soon's shot was half parried away by TNB keeper s.Kumar and the rebound fell to Mohd marhan Jalil, but he shot wide with the goal gaping.
   Two minutes later it was Harmesh Singh who squandered a chance as the ball fell to him in the semi circle, but he shot straight into Kumar instead of sidestepping the keeper.
  Nine minutes into the second half TNB broke the deadlock through Mohd Firhan Ashaari and that forced Sapura to ditch defending and come out and play. It alllowed Faisal more space but he was not scoring despite presented with opporunities.
   Sapura were awarded two penalty corners in the 68th and 69th minutes but Kumar denied them on both occassions.
  Meanwhile all the Maybank foreign players were on the scoresheet against Nur Insafi Perak.
   It was however Nur Insafi Perak that took the lead in the 18th minute via a penalty corner converted by Nur Hrsikesa Thaitchana Murthi. Muhammad Irfan then scored two consecutive penalty corners in the 27th and 32nd minute to give Maybank a 2-1 lead going into halftime.
  Shakeel Abbasi made it 3-1 in the 52nd minute but Waseem Ahmad reduced the deficit for Nur Insafi Perak in the very next minute.
  But Maybank were not about this win slip away and added another three goals through the efforts of Muhammad Waqas (58th and 70th minutes) and Hairul Nizam Abdul Rani ( 65th minute) for their first win of the season and moved to fourth in the table.