Saturday, July 11, 2015

Terengganu keep foreign signing under wraps..

MALAYSIA hockey League double champions Terengganu HT have signed the best national players in the country, and are now looking for at least four quality foreign players to defend their title starting Aug 1.
  Terengganu HT coach Sarjt Singh, however, is still keeping the foreign signing close to his heart.
  "We signed five Koreans last year but they are not available because the MHL clashes with their domestic league. I have approached players from another country and am in the midst of securing their contracts.
  "All I can say right now is that they are good players, and will be helpful in defending both our titles," said Sarjit Singh.
  Flushed with money, Sarjit has the choice of signing the best local talent as well.
  Sarjit said that although they can sign up six foreign players but
he would only register four import players to give more playing time to locals
  “We have enough quality local players and so, I want to give them more chance to play in the MHL as we cannot be relying on foreign players for ever to win the titles,” said Sarjit.
   Terengganu have seven national players - goalkeeper Hafizuddin Othman, defender Azlan Misron, midfielders Shahrun Nabil and Fitri Saari and forwards Faizal Saari, Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin and Firhan Ashaari.
  All except Fitri featured in the World League Semi-finals in Antwerp, Belgium.
   Terengganu HC's three ex internationals are defender Engku
Malek, midfielder Jivan Mohan and forward Ismail Abu.
  Sarjit said they have also included juniors, who will be playing in
Sukma (Malaysia Games) in Sarawak next year.
  Last season, Terengganu HC lost the first leg final 2-1 to Kuala Lumpur HC, but romped home 6-1 in the return leg to lay their hands on the League title for the first time after  making their MHL debut in 2013. They also beat KLHC 2-1 in the penalty shoot-out for the Overall title, after a 3-3 regulation time draw.
  Only six teams will feature in the Premier League. The teams are double champions Terengganu HC, Tenaga Nasional, Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC), Maybank, Sapura and Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL).
  However, there is an increase in both the Division One and Women's League.
  There will be 13 teams in Division One, an increase from 11 teams in 2014, and 11 teams in the Women's League, a rise from seven teams last year.