Monday, December 14, 2009

MHF still await Oltmans

THE Malaysian Hockey Federation (MHF) are still keen to hire a foreign coach, but have yet to receive a reply from Dutchman Roelant Oltmans.
The MHF held their management committee meeting in Penang on Sunday, in conjunction with the USM Penang- International Sixes and Sevens, but could not reach a concrete decision.
“We only had a brief discussion because National Sports Council (NSC) director general Datuk Zolkeples Embong cold not make it for the meeting.
“The MHF is still keen to hire a foreign coach, but until we do so, Tai Beng Hai remains as the interim coach,” said MHF secretary Hashim Yusoff.
Hashim said the MHF has short-listed three coaches, and the coaching committee has been told to submit their recommendations.
“I know that it has been a year that Beng Hai has been an interim coach, but I believe we should be able to get a reply from the coaches that we have contacted by the end of this year.”
Oltmans has a contract with clubside Larens until 2012, and the MHF will have to pay a bomb to secure his release, and then pay him and his assistant at least Euro 16,000 per- month.
Malaysia will be involved in the Asian Champions Trophy, the Azlan Shah Cup, Asian and Commonwealth Games next year and the MHF are keen to seal a foreign deal as soon as possible.

Kiwis polish off Pakistan

Sunday 13 December
9:05 7-8 BEL : CAN 2:0 (1:0)
11:35 5-6 RSA : CHN 5:0 (2:0)
14:05 3-4 ARG : IND 2:3 (2:1)
16:35 1-2 NZL : PAK 4:2 (2:2)

Final Standings
1. New Zealand
2. Pakistan
3. India
4. Argentina
5. South Africa
6. China
7. Belgium
8. Canada

Game 20 – Final – New Zealand v. Pakistan: 4-2 (half-time: 2-2)

Statistics between the two teams before this final (compiled by B.G.Joshi, Bhopal, India):
Matches played: 43 - Pakistan won 34, New Zealand won 4 - 5 draws
Goals for Pakistan: 149 - Goals for New Zealand: 65
Biggest Wins for Pakistan: 12-3 in 1982 World Cup in Mumbai
Biggest Wins for New Zealand: 7-1 in 2002 Manchester Commonwealth Games
Last played: 2009 Azlan Shah Cup in Ipoh: New Zealand won 2-1

The much expected Final between New Zealand and Pakistan, the top two ranked teams in the competition, started immediately at high pace. New Zealand had to concede a penalty-corner in the 7th minute, and Sohail ABBAS scored it dutifully although Kyle PONTIFEX got a piece of the shot. New Zealand replied with a penalty-corner of their own, using an option with Ryan ARCHIBALD deflecting on the post.

The game was back to square one and the initial nerves shaken. New Zealand then scored a sumptuous goal by Phillip BURROWS diving full length to deflect a cross from the left, then read well the second penalty-corner for ABBAS. Pakistan could not penetrate the compact New Zealand defense and tried to use long passes but they seldom came close enough to be dangerous, let alone win the coveted penalty-corner for ABBAS to officiate. It is finally in the last minute of the period that Rehan BUTT pounced on a ball in the crowded circle and acrobatically managed to shoot it out of reach of PONTIFEX.

Second half started under hot summer sun finally arrived over Salta. New Zealand were consistently dangerous upfront by Simon CHILD, Phillip BURROWS and Ryan ARCHIBALD, circulating the ball with speed and accuracy. Their best chance was for Nicholas WILSON, deflecting the ball from close range on the crossbar, but the score did not evolve. Pakistan had three additional unsuccessful penalty-corners then New Zealand scored two goals in quick succession in the last five minutes, first by Steven EDWARDS then Phillip BURROWS, both at the conclusion of fast offensive moves that swept away the Pakistani defense.

Sohail ABBAS missed another penalty-corner and New Zealand could soon celebrate their first Champions Challenge victory with their traditional haka.

BDO Champions Challenge I (men) – Salta, Argentina
Results Day 5: Sunday 13 December 2009

(7-8) Belgium - Canada 2:0 (1:0)
BEL 24mn Alexandre DEPAEUW (FG) 1:0
BEL 50mn Renaud PANGRAZIO (FG) 2:0

(5-6) South Africa - China 5:0 (2:0)
RSA 8mn Thornton McDADE (FG) 1:0
RSA 26mn Julian HYKES (FG) 2:0
RSA 38mn Justin REID-ROSS (PC) 3:0
RSA 42mn Gareth CARR (FG) 4:0
RSA 68mn Austin SMITH (FG) 5:0

(3-4) Argentina - India 2:3 (2:1)
ARG 22mn Facundo CALLIONI (FG) 1:0
ARG 29mn Facundo CALLIONI (FG) 2:0
IND 35+mn Vokkaliga RAGHUNATH (PC) 2:1
IND 54mn Gurbaj SINGH (FG) 2:2
IND 69mn Dhananjay MAHADIK (PC) 2:3

(Final) New Zealand - Pakistan 4:2 (2:2)
PAK 7mn Sohail ABBAS (PC) 0:1
NZL 15mn Ryan ARCHIBALD (PC) 1:1
NZL 20mn Phillip BURROWS (FG) 1:2
PAK 35mn Rehan BUTT (FG) 2:2
NZL 65mn Steven EDWARDS (FG) 3:2
NZL 66mn Phillip BURROWS (FG) 4:2

Final Standings: 1) New Zealand (qualify for the 2010 Champions Trophy) 2) Pakistan 3) India 4) Argentina 5) South Africa 6) China 7) Belgium 8) Canada

Individual Awards:
Player of the Tournament: Sardar SINGH (India)
Goal-keeper of the Tournament: Kyle PONTIFEX (New Zealand)
Top goal scorer: Pedro IBARRA (Argentina), 8 goals
Fair Play: Argentina

NSTP lift Nazrin trophy

By K. Kandiah

NEW Straits Times Press (NSTP) defeated Felda Hockey Club by a single goal in the Classic Men's Open final to lift the Raja Dr Nazrin Shah Challenge Trophy in the 36th USM Penang-International Sixes and Sevens Hockey Fest 2009 at the Universiti Sains Malaysia Synthetic Turf Hockey Stadium in Minden yesterday.

This was the first time that NSTP, who play in the KL Division One hockey league, lifted a silverware after participating at the competition for many years said its team manager K. Jayakumar.
Both teams were playing cautiously, and ended the first half scoreless and with about 90 seconds left in the clock before the final whistle, NSTP's P. Sivanesan picked up the ball from a free hit and tapped it to Medrianto in their own half.
Medrianto collected the ball and ran solo with none of his opponents near to challenge him, drew the goalkeeper out and slammed the ball home for the winning goal. NSTP collected RM1,000 while Felda Hockey Club received RM700.
A hat trick by Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin helped KL Hockey Club trash defending champion Nur Insafi 4-0 in the Men's Open Premier final and lift the Sultan Azlan Shah Challenge Trophy. The other goal was by Azli Misron.
For their win, KL Hockey Club received RM2,000 while their opponent, Nur Insafi settled for RM1,400 in cash prize money.
In the Women's Open final, KL Senior Ladies defeated Perak's RPS Blues 3-1 to capture the Governor Of Penang Challenge Trophy. Kannagi Arumugam, Nur Hafizah Azman and Nuraini Rashid scored for the champions while Norzuliana Hamzani replied for RPS Blues.
The KL Seniors collected RM1,200 while the runner-up RPS Blues received RM800.
RESULTS - (all finals) Men's Premier League: KL Hockey Club 4 Nur Insafi Penang `C' 0.
Classic Men's Open: New Straits Times Press `B' 1 Felda Hockey Club 0.
Institutions of Higher Learning Men: Universiti Putra Malaysia `A' 1 Universiti Putra Malaysia `C' 0.
Men's Veteran: Jolly Lads KL 3 KL Irrigation 2.
Classic Women's Open: KL Senior Ladies 3 RPS Blues 1.
Institutions of Higher Learning Women: Universiti Putra Malaysia `B' 2 Universiti Putra Malaysia `A' 1.