Friday, March 27, 2009

Death mars League restart

THE Malaysia Hockey League (MHL) will resume today after a three-week break on a sombre note following the death of a Nur Insafi player in an accident, which also resulted in four other players being hospitalised.

Sixteen-year-old Mohamed Fadhirul Razmin died in the accident, while Mohamed Hanif Kasman, Mohamed Azrul Fazrin, Sabir Ismail and Mohamed Fadil Zabidi have been hospitalised.
The five were on the way to a training session on Wednesday when their car was involved in an accident near Kulim.
As a mark of respect, the Malaysian Hockey Federation (MHF) has postponed the Nur Insfi-Selangor match which was supposed to be held today in Sungai Petani.
Nur Insafi top the Division Three table with an unbeaten record.
Meanwhile, Bandar Penawar Sports School (BPSS) will lock horns with Tenaga Nasional today, and the outcome will decide which team have the power to challenge for the Division Two title.
Favourites Bukit Jalil Sports School (BJSS) should have it easy against Setapak High School, and could even re-claim the top spot if BJSS lose to Tenaga.
TODAY -- Division Two: Bukit Jalil Sports School v Setapak High (Tun Razak Stadium, 6pm), Malacca v BPSS Juniors (Malacca, 5pm), Olak v Kijang Mas (Pandamaran Stadium, 5pm), Bandar Penawar Sports School v Tenaga Nasional (Bandar Penawar, 5pm), Anderson v BJSS Juniors (Azlan Shah Stadium, 5pm), Batu Pahat v Petaling Jaya City Council (Batu Pahat, 5pm).
Division Three: Kuala Selangor v Penang (Pandamaran Stadium, 3pm), Temerloh v TBSS-Tampin (Kuantan Stadium, 5pm), Datuk Taha v Perlis (Tampin, 5pm).

Target to reach final

Madzli Ikmar (pic)has been named captain.

THE Malaysian Hockey Federation selected its squad for the Azlan Shah Cup with a dual target of qualifying for the final and to avoid injuries.

The Azlan Shah Cup will be held in Ipoh on April 5-12, and after that it's do-or-die in the Asia Cup scheduled for May 9-15 in Kuantan.
"We will play for a berth in the final, of course, but the players have also been told not to take unnecessary risks in the Azlan Shah Cup as they have a bigger task in the Asia Cup," said team manager George Koshy after naming the 22 for Ipoh.
Malaysia will be up against New Zealand, India, Pakistan and Egypt in the Azlan Shah Cup.
The Asia Cup only offers one ticket to the 2010 New Delhi World Cup.
"We will trim the squad to 18 after a friendly with New Zealand on April 2 as we still need to see how some injured players respond to treatment before finalising the squad," Koshy added.
Not on the list is prolific striker Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin, who picked up a shin splint but should be ready for the Asia Cup.
The Azlan Shah squad -- Goalkeepers: S. Kumar, Khairulnizam Ibrahim, Fairul Wanasir.
Defenders: Madzli Ikmar (capt), Engku Malek, Amin Rahim, Baljit Singh Charun Singh, Baljit Singh Sarjab Singh.
Midfielders: Kelvinder Singh, Sukri Mutalib, Shahrun Nabil, Nabil Fiqri, Jivan Mohan, Azlan Misron.
Forwards: Ismail Abu, Chua Boon Huat, Hafifi Hafiz, Amerullah Aziz, S. Selvaraju, Megat Azrafiq, Herwan Pami, Fekri Basaar.