Thursday, June 11, 2015

Gurdwara Cup: Perak break duck after 64 years

Caption: Perak Boys Under-18 hockey team who finished third and earned the crucial one point to give their contingent the Overall title for the first time in 64 years.

GRITTY Perak finally laid their hands on the coveted Gurdwara Cup Overall title when they edged Kuala Lumpur by one point at the Penang Sports Club last weekend.
  The Gurdwara Cup and Sikh Festival of Sports was at its 64th edition, and it was the first time in 64 years that Perak won the Overall title.
  Nine contingents from Johor, Perak, Kedah, Royal Malaysian Police Sikhs Sports Association, Kuala Lumpur, Negri Sembilan, Selangor, Singapore and hosts Penang competed in this annual event.
  Kuala Lumpur have been in total domination of the event and their only other defeat in the Overall title was in 2001 when Singapore dethroned them.
  And amazingly, the one point was delivered late into the tournament by Perak's Under-18 Boys' hockey team.
  Perak Sikh Union president Gurjeet Singh said: "It is real wonderful moment for Perak as its our first Overall title in 64 years and I credit all the players in every event who gave their best to achieve this milestone. The boys under-18 team finished third and were a little disappointed, but in the end, it was their one point which saw us edge Kuala Lumpur to the title."
  Perak accumulated 20 points while Kuala Lumpur had 19. The Gurdwara Cup will be held in Seremban, Negri Sembilan, next year.
  On hand to give moral support for Kuala Lumpur was the country's  Asian Games gold medallist ACP (rtd) Datuk Nashatar Singh.
  The highlight of the championship was the senior men's hockey final at the Penang Sports Club ground where debutant Royal Malaysian Police Sikhs Sports Association were sent packing 6-1 by Kuala Lumpur.
  Organising committee chairman Dr Terlochan Singh said for the first time the Royal Malaysian Police Sikhs Sports Association has been invited to participate in the Gurdwara Cup, one of the oldest sporting events in the country.

  Roll of Honour:
  Overall champions: Perak
  Best Sikh Sportman 2014: Navraj Singh Randhawa (athletics).
  Most Promising Sikh Sportman 2014: Jasraj Singh Dhanoa (cricket), Shaunvinder Singh (cricket) and Ishaan Singh (tennis).
  Hockey Fair Play Trophy (senior): Johor
  Football Fair Play Trophy (senior): Perak
  Netball Fair Play Trophy: Penang 

  RESULTS - Badminton: Final: Negri Sembilan 2 Perak 0; 3rd-4th: Selangor 2 Kuala Lumpur 0.
  Football (juniors) Final: Perak 3 Kuala Lumpur 0; 3rd-4th: Selangor 3 Singapore 0.
  Seniors Final: Kuala Lumpur 1 (4) Perak 1 (2); 3rd-4th: Negri Sembilan 0 (3) Selangor 0 (0).
  Golf: 1 Perak (304 pts), Singapore (309), 3 Selangor (314).
  Hockey (juniors) Final: Kuala Lumpur 4 Negri Sembilan 1; Bronze: Perak.
  Seniors Final: Kuala Lumpur 6 Royal Malaysian Police Sikh Sports Association 1; 3rd-4th: Perak 0 (6) Selangor 0 (5).
  Netball Final: Selangor 25 Kuala Lumpur 22; 3rd-4th: Penang 23 Perak 21.