Sunday, March 21, 2010

KL champions for third consecutive year

KUALA Lumpur stamped their supremacy for the third consecutive year when they beat Perak 4-3 for the National Under-16 hockey title in Sandakan, Sabah yesterday.
In the bronze play-off, Negri Sembilan beat Selangor 2-1.
KL were the champions in Alor Star in 2008, then cham pions in Seremban in 2009, and won it again in Sabah.
The KL goals were scored by Shahril Saabah (23rd), Mohamed Nor (32nd, 59th) and Zizi Azwan (36th).
Shahrusahadan Basri (30th), Ashran Hamsani (46th), Fitri Ismail (36th) scored for Perak.
In the third-fourth playoff, Negri got their goals off
Rusdi Roslan (41st) and Shahir Arif (69th), while Amir Zulkarnain (15th) scored for Selangor.
“The boys played their hearts out to defend KL’s title for the third consecutive year, and I am very proud of their un derstanding and determination.
“Perak players piled the pressure and had many attempts at goal, but my defenders stood their ground and we won the title with a bit of luck in attack,” said KL coach Lokman Yahaya.
According to Lokman, the overall quality of teams in Sabah was much better than the previous edition.
“The MHF (Malaysian Hockey Federation) selectors had a tough time picking the best, because there were many to choose from. Also, I notice that the average height of the players has also improved and this augurs well for the future of hockey in Malaysia,” said Lokman.
The selected players will undergo training for an Under-16 tournament in Germany in the middle of the year.
RESULTS: Final: Kuala Lumpur 4 Perak 3; Third-Fourth: Negri Sembilan 2 Selangor 1.
Roll-of-Honour: Best Goalkeeper: Fitri Razali (Sel); Player- of-the-Tournament: Shahiram Zali (KL); Player-of-the-Final: Shahril Saabah (KL); Top-Scorer: Shahrusahadan Basri (Pk, 10 goals); Fair-play: Singapore.