Monday, May 5, 2008

MHF wants gold

Australians with the Azlan Shah Cup, after beating Malaysia 3-1 in the final in 2007.

THE Malaysian hockey Federation (MHF) want a spot in the final, and coach Sarjit Singh believes his charges will be up to it when the Azlan Shah Cup starts in Ipoh on Thursday.
Malaysia will open accounts with Pakistan on Thursday, and Sarjit feels his charges have an equal chance.
After the council meeting on Saturday, MHF president Tan Sri Admiral (rtd) Mohd Anwar Mohd Nor said: "Last year there was a stronger field and we made it to the final, so this year, I see no reason why the team should not be in the final again."
"This is not an easy field, as Pakistan, Canada, Belgium and New Zealand have qualified for the Beijing Olympics, while Malaysia, Argentina and India were runners-up in their respective Olympic Qualifiers.
"However, since the difference in strength among all seven teams is not big, it will be touch-and-go in all the matches and reaching the final is not beyond our reach," said Sarjit.
Four players from the Japan Qualifiers were left out.
"S. Kuhan, Shahrun Nabil and Razie (Abdul Rahman) are injured, while Ahmad Anuar (Sham) has been placed on the reserve list."
Baljit Singh (Sarjab), Megat Azrafiq, Riduan Nasir and Amirullah Aziz were selected to replace the four.
"Jiwa (Mohan) has also managed to secure leave from his employers and he will again be an asset. He scored three penalty corner goals in Japan, and I am sure he will be good for more goals in Ipoh," said Sarjit.
MALAYSIA: Goalkeepers -- S. Kumar, Hanafi Hassan; Defenders: Megat Azrafiq, Madzli Ikmar, Amin Rahim, Baljit Singh Sarjab, Baljit Singh Charun.
Midfielders: Sukri Mutalib, Azlan Misron, Kelvinder Singh, Jiwa Mohan, Jivan Mohan, Riduan Nasir.
Forwards: S. Selvaraju, Chua Boon Huat, Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin, Ismail Abu, Amirullah Aziz.
Reserves: Ahmad Anuar Sham Kamar, Hafifi Hafiz.
FIXTURES -- Thursday: India v New Zealand (4pm), Argentina v Belgium (6pm), Pakistan v Malaysia (8pm).
Friday: Canada v Belgium (4pm), Pakistan v New Zealand (6pm), Argentina v India (8pm).
Saturday: REST DAY.
Sunday: Canada v India (4pm), Malaysia v New Zealand (6pm), Pakistan v Argentina (8pm).
May 12: Belgium v India (4pm), Canada v Pakistan (6pm), Malaysia v Argentina (8pm).
May 13: REST DAY.
May 14: New Zealand v Argentina (4pm), Belgium v Pakistan (6pm), Malaysia v Canada (8pm).
May 15: India v Pakistan (4pm), New Zealand v Canada (6pm), Belgium v Malaysia (8pm).
May 16: REST DAY.
May 17: Argentina v Canada (4pm), India v Malaysia (6pm), New Zealand v Belgium (8pm).
May 18: Classifications and Final (8pm).

Korea snatch last ticket

SOUTH Korea whitewashed Italy 5-0 to snatch a ticket to the Beijing Olympics, while Malaysia went to strokes before finishing fifth in the Olympic Qualifiers in Vancouver on Sunday.
Malaysia ended tied 2-2 with Uruguay, but won the penalty stroke competition 3-2 to claim a fifth spot. Ireland won bronze when they beat Canada 2-1.
Nadia Abdul Rahman scored off a penalty corner deflection in the 25th minute, but Uruguay equalised in the 59th minute off Virginia Bessio.
Malaysia took the lead again off Norfaraha Hashim in the 62nd minute, but were reduced to ten players for the last five minutes of the match after a red card was flashed to Noor Hasliza.
Uruguay took the match into overtime with a penalty- corner goal by Teresa Algorta in the 69th minute.
No golden goal was scored, and Malaysia won the shoot-out 3-2.
The women’s teams qualified for Beijing are: Argentina, Australia, China, Germany, Great Britain, Japan, South Korea, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Spain, South Africa and USA.

WorldHockey Olympic Qualifier, Women – Victoria, CanadaResults day 6: Sunday 4 May 2008
1st-2nd placeKorea - Italy 5:0 (5:0) 4mn Mi Hyun PARK (FG) 1:010mn Seon Ok LEE (PC) 2:011mn Hye Jin SEO (FG) 3:016mn Sung Hee GIM (PC) 4:023mn Jong Eun KIM (FG) 5:0
3rd-4th placeIreland - Canada 2:1 (2:1) 6mn Jenny McDONOUGH (PC) 1:026mn Cathy McKEAN (FG) 2:0 35mn Stephanie JAMESON (PC) 2:1
5th-6th placeMalaysia - Uruguay 2:2 (1:0, 2:2, 2:2, penalty strokes:3:2)25mn Nadia ABDUL RAHMAN (PC) 1:059mn Virginia BESSIO (PC) 1:1 62mn Norfaraha HASHIM (PC) 2:169mn Teresa ALGORTA (PC) 2:2
Final Standings: 1) Korea 2) Italy 3) Ireland 4) Canada 5) Malaysia 6) Uruguay. Korea qualify for the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing,
Best Player: Mi Hyun PARK, KORBest Goalkeeper: Sarah FORBES, CANTop Scorer: Mi Hyun PARK, KOR, 7 goalsFair Play: ITALY