Sunday, April 25, 2010

Australia women hammer Chile 5-0

The Hockeyroos appear on target to qualify for the 2010 World Cup, winning their first game of the World Cup Qualifier event against host nation Chile in Santiago, Chile this morning.
The 5-0 victory will be a huge confidence boost to the Hockeyroos, with Australia controlling the match from the opening whistle.
After generating two penalty corners for no result in the first ten minutes of play, Amy Korner eventually began the proceedings for the Hockeyroos, converting the first goal via their third penalty corner attempt at the 15 minute mark.
The Hockeyroos continued to control the match, scoring their second goal of the match only ten minutes later thanks to Ashleigh Nelson to further extend the Australian lead.
Despite their dominance on the field the Hockeyroos were unable to transfer it to the scoreboard, faced by a determined Chilean team who restricted the Hockeyroos to only two goals in the first half.
It took the Hockeyroos only 8 minutes after half time to add to their goal tally, with Ashleigh Nelson scoring her second goal and ultimately putting the result beyond doubt.
Captain Madonna Blyth scored the Hockeyroos fourth goal only minutes later after an impressive combination from the Australian forwards.
Although they trailed heavily on he scoreboard, Chile remained determined and threw every at Australia in a bid to find their first score. However the Hockeyroos defence lead by Nicole Arrold and goalkeeper Toni Cronk was too strong and ensured the goal sheet remained blank
The Hockeyroos inflicted the final blow with Kate Hollywood scoring their fifth goal at the 55 minute mark.
Despite the determination of the home team the Hockeyroos were never really challenged and will be looking to continue their form throughout the tournament.
Hockeyroos 5 Chile 0 (2-0 half time)
Goals – Aus Korner 15m PC, Nelson 24m FG/ 43m PC, Blyth 51m FG, Hollywood 55m FG.

Hockey Australia media release

Sandeep dropped, new blood for India

NEW DELHI: Drag-flicker Sandeep Singh was on Saturday dropped from the 18-member Indian squad for the Azlan Shah Cup in Ipoh, Malaysia as selectors chose to infuse new blood in the side.
Also missing from the squad to be captained by Rajpal Singh is another drag-flick specialist Diwakar Ram, as the selectors decided to give chance to some new players in the wake of India's poor performance in the World Cup last month.
Goalkeeper Adrian D' Souza and striker Gurvinder Singh Chandi, who played in the World Cup, also failed to find a place in the squad for from May 6-16 event.
The players were selected after a two-day trial at Balewadi, Pune, which ended on Friday.
The selection trials were attended by Hockey India selectors BP Govinda, Balbir Singh, Madhu Yadav and Sita Mehta and government observers Ajitpal Singh and Zafar Iqbal.
"The selectors and coaches unanimously decided to give a chance to some new promising players in this tournament," a Hockey India release said.
"It has also been decided to put a core management team for all overseas series and tournaments as well as domestic matches. This committee shall comprise coaches, captain and team manager who will decide on the playing composition of the squad before every match," it added.
India are four time champions in this tournament having won the title in 1985, 1991, 1995 and 2009.
The Squad:
Goalkeepers: Sreejesh PR, Bharat Chetri.
Defenders: Sardar Singh, Dhananjay Mahadik, Amit Prabhakar, Rupinder Pal Singh.
Midfielders: Gurbaj Singh, Ravi Pal Singh, Prabodh Tirkey, Bharat Chikara, Vikas Pillay, Danish Mujtaba.
Forwards: Rajpal Singh (Capt), Tushar Khandker, Shivendra Singh, Mandip Antil, Arjun Halappa, Sarvanjit Singh.
Officials: Jose Brasa (Head Coach); Harendra Singh (National Coach); Clarence Lobo (Coach); Gundeep Kumar (Coach)

The Times of India

Japan-Azerbaijan in gold rush

Japanese Kaori Chiba scores the second goal in their 2-0 win against Azerbaijan in the pool match. Both the teams will play in the final for the single ticket to Argentina World Cup.

Azerbaijan defeated Italy 3-1 due to a great finish and qualified for the final against Japan at BDO Women's World Cup Qualifier in Kazan.
Belarus beat Wales 4-1 and play for the Bronze Medal against Russia who dew 2-2 with Japan. Italy and Wales compete for rank 5.

Sabri powers UniKL with four

UNIKL started shakily in their third consecutive match, but pulled up their socks in the second half to hammer Bukit Jalil Sports School Juniors 6-0 in Division One of the MHF-Milo- NSC Junior Hockey League at the KLHA Stadium yesterday.
The erratic starts has their coach worried, because they will be playing against better teams from now onwards.
“My players need to settle down early, as in the last three matches we were lucky that the opponents did not take advantage of our slow starts and allowed us into the game after the breather,” admitted UniKL coach I. Vick neswaran.
The win took UniKL to the top of the standings, but two of the other favourites Bukit Jalil Sports School and Bandar Penawar Sports School Thunderbolt, both have a match in hand.
Sabri Mohamed (pic) was the toast if the day for UniKL as he scored four penalty corner goals in the 20th, 25th, 37th and 57th minutes.
Aminuddin Abu delivered a brace in the 41st and 45th minutes to give his team a big win against players who were at least two years younger than the UniKL side.
RESULTS: Division One -- Petaling Jaya City Council 3 Bandar Penawar Juniors 0
, Kelantan 3 Anderson 3, UniKL 6 Bukit Jalil Sports School Juniors 0.
Division Two: Matri 0 Sabah 2, Kuala Selangor 0 Ipoh City Council 6, Johor 1 Pahang 4.


P W D L F A Pt
UNIKL 5 5 0 0 28 5 15
BP T’BOLT 4 4 0 0 25 3 12
BJSS 4 4 0 0 15 1 12
ANDERSON 7 3 1 3 14 23 10
PJCC 5 2 0 3 10 12 6
BPSS JUNIORS 4 1 0 3 4 11 3
KELANTAN 5 0 2 3 6 27 2
BJSS JUNIORS 5 0 1 4 2 17 1
MWHA 3 0 0 3 4 9 0


P W D L F A Pt
IPOH CC 4 3 1 0 13 2 10
SABAH 3 3 0 0 18 0 9
PAHANG 3 3 0 0 9 4 9
TBSS 4 2 1 1 14 6 7
MATRI 4 1 0 3 6 7 3
K. SELANGOR 4 1 0 3 3 24 3
PG FREES 2 0 2 0 4 4 2
JOHOR 4 0 1 3 6 12 1
DATUK TAHA 4 0 1 3 3 16 1