Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Razak Cup: Perak check into semis...

RAZAK Cup silver medallists Perak beat Kuala Lumpur 4-2 to move into the semi-finals from Group B at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil Tuesday.
  Terengganu, who were held 2-2 by Negri Sembilan, will have to beat Perak today to claim their spot in the semi-finals. Negri Sembilan also have an outside chance, provided they beat Kuala Lumpur by a big margin and Terengganu lose to Perak.
  Meanwhile, despite nursing an injury, Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin scored five goals to help Perlis hammer Kedah 6-1 in their Group A Division Two match to book a semi-finals ticket.
  In the other Group A match, Penang beat Selangor 2-0 to finish tops on nine points.
  On Friday Perlis will play Armed Forces in the semi-finals, while in the other semis, Kelantan will meet Penang.
  Perlis, who faced a must win situation, were saved by Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin.
  Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin scored in the 19th, 23rd, 32nd, 34th and 40th, while Azwadi Ridzuan (28th), scored the other goal. The Perlis goal was scored by Fahmi Nasir in the 39th minute.
  Perlis coach Badrisham Che Yob praised his star performer.
  "Despite carrying an injury picked up in an earlier match against Selangor, he is irreplaceable for us. Most of our players are still young and they look to him for guidance on and off the field, which he delivers.
  "Today (yesterday), it was a must-win match for us if we wanted to advance and the score line says much about our team spirit."
  RESULTS: Division One: Group B: Negri Sembilan 2 Terengganu 2, Kuala Lumpur 2 Perak 4.
  Division Two: Group A: Selangor 0 Penang 2, Kedah 1 Perlis 6; Group B: Kelantan 4 Sabah 1, Sarawak 0 Armed Forces 12.
  Women's Group A: Selangor 1 Police 0, Sarawak 1 Pahang 5; Group B: Sabah 0 Armed Forces 3, Negeri Sembilan 0 Kuala Lumpur 10.
  WEDNESDAY: Division One: Group A: Malacca v Police (6pm, Pitch I), Pahang v Johor (6pm, Pitch II); Group B: Perak v Terengganu (8pm, Pitch I); Negri Sembilan v Kuala Lumpur (8pm, Pitch II).
  Women's Group A: Pahang v Johor (4pm, Pitch I), Police v Sarawak (4pm, Pitch II); Group B: Kuala Lumpur v Terengganu (7.30am, Pitch I), Armed Forces v Negri Sembilan (7.30am, Pitch II); Group C: Malacca v Kedah (9.30am, Pitch I); Perak v Penang (9.30am, Pitch II).