Sunday, September 30, 2012

Tenaga protest Faizal demerit..

TENAGA Nasional might be severely crippled as their prolific goal-scorer Faizal Saari could be ruled out of the first leg semi-finals aginst Sapura in the Premier Division of the Malaysia Hockey League on Oct 4.
  The second semi-finals would be between Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC) and Maybank.
  Faizal had scored 18 goals out of Tenaga Nasional's 26 total, but he might warm the bench in the first leg after picking up a yellow card against KLHC yesterday.
  It brought his total demerit points to ten:"The demerit points were discussed in the managers meeting and agreed that it would be carried foward until the end, and we will stick to it," said Tournament Director V. Rajamanickam.
  However, Tenaga Nasional manager Samsul Ariffin said he does not agree with the tournament director.
  "We need to see the rules and the minutes of the team managers meeting stating that demerit points would be carried foward into the knock-out stage.
  "It has been the precedent since the MHL was incepted that demerit points end at the League level, and not carried foward to the knock-out stages. So I strongly protest my player being victimised," said Samsul.
  MHC secretary Johari Aziz than clarified that the decision was not minuted but Tenaga must follow the tournament regulation.
  KLHC team manager George Koshy, who will also lose Ahmad Kazamirul to demerit points for the first leg, then said that the eight teams in the Premier and Division One semi-finals should decide if the demerit points are valid or not.
  All eight teams then voted to abolish the demerit points at the end of the League, and the technical committee then decided to discuss the matter today before making a stand on the matter.
  Meanwhile, Razie Rahim scored a hat-trick to hand Tenaga Nasional their first defeat of the season.
  Kuala Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC) came back from two goals down to beat Tenaga Nasional Berhad 4-3, and also avenged their 3-4 defeat to Tenaga in the first round of the MHL.
  Amir Fariq (17th) and Shazril Irwan (21st) gave Tenaga a 2-0 lead, but KLHC skipper started the fight-back with a penalty corner deflection goal in the 25th minute.
  Razie then scored a brace in the 39th and 46th minutes but Faizal Saari levelled the terms for Tenaga off a penalty stroke in the 64th minute. But Razie had the final word, deftly scoring the fourth KLHC goal in the 67th minute for full points.


                P  W  D  L  F    A  Pts
KLHC            10 8  1  1  49  14  25
TNB             10 4  5  1  26  21  17
Sapura          10 4  4  2  24  21  16
Maybank         10 3  3  4  21  26  12
UniKL           10 2  2  6  19  28  8
Nur Insafi      10 1  1  8  22  51  4


                 P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts

Forces           6  4  2  0  12  4   14
Thunderbolt      6  4  1  1  12  6   13
BJSS             6  4  0  2  27 18   12
Johor HA         6  3  0  3  16  16  9
Uniten           6  2  1  3  10  12  7
UiTM             6  2  0  4  10  19  6
Politeknik       6  0  0  6  7  19   0

  RESULTS -- Premier Division: Sapura 6 Nur Insafi-MBI 5, Tenaga 3 KLHC 4, Maybank 2 UniKL 3. 
  Oct 4: Premier Division Semi-finals (first leg) -- KLHC v Maybank (National Stadium Pitch II, 6pm), Tenaga Nasional v Sapura (National Stadium Pitch II, 8pm).
  Division One Semi-finals -- Armed Forces v Bukit Jalil (National Stadium Pitch I, 6pm), Thunderbolts v Johor HA (National Stadium Pitch I, 8pm).
  Oct 7: Premier Division Semi-finals (second leg) -- Maybank v KLHC (National Stadium Pitch II, 6pm), Sapura v Tenaga Nasional (National Stadium Pitch II, 8pm).
  Division One Semi-finals -- Bukit Jalil v Armed Forces (National Stadium Pitch I, 6pm), Johor HA v Thunderbolts (National Stadium Pitch I, 8pm). 

Belgium see off Wales

Anouk Raes celebrates with goalscorer Jill Boon (Photo: Adrian Boehm)

 Belgium – Wales 4-2 (halftime: 3-0)
Belgium bounced back from their opening day defeat to Australia as they showed Wales a clean pair of heels in the early phases of the first game of the day. Stefanie de Groof scored a penalty corner and a stroke inside the first four minutes and, from there, the Welsh side never got back within range.

Andy Mair EuroHockey Photographer of the Year

The winning EuroHockey entry by Andy Mair

Andy Mair is the 2012 EuroHockey Photographer of the Year.
  Andy, recently retired top class umpire, has had more time recently to devoted to his beloved hobby of photography. Andy was lucky enough to be at this year’s EHL Final and to capture Niklas Bruns floating the ball past Klaas Veering, for Uhlenhorst's first goal during the EHL Final at Amstelveen.

The joy of sport...

PURE JOY: Hosts Ireland got their Champions Challenge I campaign off to a great start as they surprised South Africa with Chloe Watkins’ 52nd minute goal making the vital difference. It saw the girls in green edge home a tight, tense battle in which South Africa could not find the fluidity that marked the latter phases of their Olympic campaign.

Raja: Release my players or call off Razak Cup

KUALA Lumpur HA want their nine players for the Razak Cup released immediately after the Malaysia Hockey League ends on Oct 10, or suggested that the 50th Edition of the tournament be called off.
  KLHA secretary V. Rajamanickam made this statement after he found out that chief coach Paul Revington will be calling up about 30 players for a two-day national training on the 11th and 12 of October.
  "I know that I risk being suspended by the MHC (Malaysian Hockey Confederation) for making this call. But the truth must be said, and I am not worried about the repercussions that might come with it.
  "The tournament starts on the 14th of October and it is ridiculous for the national coach to call for a two-day training camp which will deny the states a chance to re-group their squads.
  "Nine players from Kuala Lumpur are involved with the call-up, so it is our stand that if Revington goes ahead with his plans, the Razak Cup should be called off as states would not have enough time to re-group their players," said Rajamanickam.
  The nine are Baljit Singh, Nabil Fiqri, Chua Boon Huat, Harvinder Singh, Amin Rahim, Kelvinder Singh, Radzie Rahim, Sallehin Ghani, Noor Faeez Ibrahim.
  Kuala Lumpur are Division One defending champions, and all the states exept for Sarawak have confirmed their entries for the tournament which will he held in Kuantan on Oct 14-23.
  The other teams in Division One are Perak, Terengganu, Pahang, Penang, Armed Forces, Johor and Negri Sembilan.
  Malacca have been demoted to Division Two after finishing at the bottom last year, and will play against Kelantan, Selangor, Kedah, Perlis, Police and Sabah.