Monday, May 2, 2011

Asian Games squad for Azlan Shah

NATIONAL chief coach Tai Beng Hai still needs time to decide is he wants to field Amin Rahim for the Azlan Shah Cup in Ipoh on May 5-15.
Amin, 31, tore a ligament in his right knee while playing for Tenaga Nasional in the Malaysia Hockey League but has recovered, but Beng Hai wants another opinion.
“Amin has recovered from his knee injury, but I will wait until the team managers meeting before deciding on him. It all depends on another medical check up on him in the next two days.
“And then I will decide if if I want to rest him for the long run (Champions Challenge and Olympics Qualifier) or field him now,” said Beng Hai.
There are 25 players in training, and Beng Hai said 15 from the Asian Games silver medal winning side have been retained. The 16th member was Amin.
“Fifteen players are assured for their place, while Amin will be decided later. Also, Azreen (Rizal) picked up an injury while playing against New Zealand (on Sunday) and I will wait for the doctor’s recommendation on him,” said Beng Hai.
Malaysia held New Zealand to a 2-2 draw in the 35 minute friendly, and the coach feels the Kiwis have a strong side even though some of the regulars are missing.
“New Zealand has depth in their reserves and even with the absence of some regulars, they are still strong and will pose a problem for every team in the tournament.”
Kelvinder Singh, who picked up an injury before the Asian Games, is also expected to make a comeback in Ipoh.
The Azlan Shah Cup allows 18 players to be registered, and that means if Amin is ruled out and Kelvinder selected, two players from the Project 2013 will get their break in Ipoh.
ASIAN GAMES SQUAD: S. Kumar (Gk), Roslan Jamaluddin (Gk), Razie Rahim, Baljit Singh, Madzli Ikmar, Azreen Rizal, Shahrun Nabil, Sukri Mutalib, Marhan Jalil , Nabil Fiqri, Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin, Faizal Saari, Azlan Misron, Hafi fihafiz Hanafi, Izwan Firdaus, Amin Rahim.
FIXTURES: MAY 5 -- New Zealand v Pakistan (4pm), India v South Korea 6pm), Great Britain v Malaysia (8pm).
MAY 6 -- Korea v Pakistan (4pm), Great Britain v India (6pm), Australia v Malaysia (8pm).
MAY 8 -- Australia v India (4pm), Great Britain v Pakistan (6pm), Korea v New Zealand (8pm).
MAY 9 -- Australia v Pakistan (4pm), Great Britain v New Zealand (6pm), India v Malaysia (8pm).
MAY 11 -- New Zealand v Malaysia (4pm), Australia v Korea (6pm), Pakistan v India (8pm).
MAY 12 -- Australia v Great Britain (4pm), New Zealand v India (6pm), Korea v Malaysia (8pm).
MAY 14 -- Great Britain v South Korea (4pm), Pakistan v Malaysia (6pm), Australia v New Zealand (8pm).
MAY 15 -- Fifth-Sixth (4pm), Third-Fourth (6pm); Final (8.30pm).