Sunday, March 14, 2010

World Cup goes Down Under

The Gods of hockey were finally on Australia’s side in at the Hero Honda FIH World Cup 2010 in Delhi: the Kookaburras edged a promising German team (2-1) in an exciting Final, the third World Cup Final in a row between the two countries. For the Bronze Medal, The Netherlands overcame a two-goal deficit at half-time to finally beat a valiant English team (4-3).

Game 38 – Final – Germany v. Australia: 1-2 (half-time: 0-1)

The final between Germany and Australia was the 6th World Cup in a row where these 2 teams have played each other in their last match of the tournament, initially in the 3rd-4th matches, then of course in the last two Finals, both won by Germany by one goal (2-1 in 2002 and 4-3 in 2006). Australian Liam de YOUNG and German Matthias WITTHAUS are the only players in the current squads to have played in the last two Word Cup Finals.

Match facts (Germany v. Australia):
> Australia win the world title for the first time in 24 years.
> Australia (2G-2S-2B) and Germany (2G-2S-2B) both collect a record 8th World Cup medal.
> Luke Doerner’s championship winning PC goal was his 8th at Delhi 2010.
> Luke Doerner and Taeke Taekema (NED) share the top goal scorer title this tournament (8 goals).
> Australia have scored a total of 27 goals to become the top scoring team at Delhi 2010.
> Australia’s 27 goals came from 15 FG, 11 PC and 1 PS.
> Australia and Spain have conceded fewest goals at Delhi 2010 (8).
> Germany have scored most PC goals at Delhi 2010 (13).
> Australia have been awarded most penalty corners (36)
> Ric Charlesworth (AUS) has now won the World Title as a player (1986) and as a coach (2010).

Game 37 – 3rd-4th – England v. Netherlands: 3-4 (half-time: 3-1)

The match for the Bronze Medals was between two teams that started well the competition in Delhi, but fizzled in their last games: England won 4 in a row before losing to Spain (0-2) then Germany in semi-final (1-4), while The Netherlands won their first three matches then drew with Germany (2-2), lost to Korea (1-2) and to Australia in semi-final (1-2), their longest non-winning streak in the World Cup since 1982.

Match Facts (England v. Netherlands):
> Netherland claimed the bronze medal, beating England 4-3 as they did in their pool match at the 2006 World Cup.
> This is Holland’s best World Cup result on 8 years, since winning bronze in 2002.
> Netherlands are now on 7 World Cup medals, Germany and Australia will collect their 8th medal this tournament.
> England finish 4th, their best World Cup ranking since winning silver in 1986.
> Dutch captain Teun de Nooijer (1G-1S-2B) has equalled the record for most World Cup medals collecting his 4th medal in the competition. He joins Pakistan’s Akhtar Rasool (3G-1S-0B) (1971-1982).
> Taeke Taekema (NED) scored once to equal Ties Kruize’s total of 21 World Cup goals. Only all-time WC top scorer Paul Litjens (NED) has scored more WC goals (26 goals).
> Taekema has scored 8 goals at Delhi 2010.
> Ashley Jackson scored two PC goals to lift his Delhi 2010 total to 7 goals.
> England have lost their last three WC matches at Delhi 2010 going down to Spain (2-0), Germany (4-1) and Netherlands (4-3).