Monday, September 5, 2016

Faizal can play in Alagendra Cup semis...

SAPURA Hockey Club are as good as in the final of the Tan Sri P. Alagendra Cup as they face an amateur side in the semi-finals Tuesday.
  They were paired off with Division One outfit Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI) for the last four, and there could even be a thrashing in Johor Baru Tuesday.
  The other semi-finals is between Premier Division sides Terengganu Hockey Team (THT) and Tenaga Nasional -- and it could go to the wire.
  In the Malaysia Hockey League (MHL), THT and Tenaga drew 4-4.
  However, SSTMI could only beat Politeknik Malaysia, another Division One side, 3-0 in the shoot-out after being tied 1-1 during regulation time in the Alagendra Cup quarter-finals.
  As for THT even though Faizal Shaari, who scored 17 goals for them last season, received a red card while playing against Universiti Kuala Lumpur on Sunday -- he is still eligible to turn out for the Alagendra Cup.
  "He received the red card in the Premier Division of the MHL, while the Alagendra Cup is a diffeent tournament and so, Faizal is eligible to play on Tuesday (today)," said MHL Tournament Director Jusvir Singh.
  Faizal called umpire Nor Azhar 'bodoh' (stupid) and will be reffered to the MHL disciplinary committee today for further action in the League.
  Sapura coach Yahya Atan said: "Even though we should have a relatively easy time against SSTMI as compared to the Tenaga-THT match, we need to keep keep our feet on the ground to lay our hands on the inaugural Alagendra Cup."
  "Tenaga have shown they are no pushovers, and with our strikers finding it hard to score goals, we will be bracing for a tough time in the semi-finals," said THT coach Sarjit Singh.
  THT, last season's double champions, are almost out of the running for the League title as their No 1 striker Faizal has yet to score a single goal. His 17 goals last year powered THT to the two titles, as well as the Razak Cup gold.
  TUESDAY -- ALAGENDRA CUP Semi-finals: Tenaga Nasional v Terengganu HT (KLHA,6pm), SSTMI v Sapura (SSTMI, 6pm).