Saturday, March 12, 2016

TNB Cup final: BJSS gunning to regain glory

SSTMI Thunderbolts will be gunning for their fifth straight double, while BJSS will be trying to regain their old glory in the TNB Cup final at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil Sunday.
   Both the teams last met in the 2009 Overall title clash, and BJSS were champions after a penalty shoot-out.
  But after that BJSS sank into the abyss, and only resurfaced this season, as SSTMI stole the limelight with convincing wins.
  However, this season SSTMI look a little out of shape, while BJSS has stronger side on paper.
  In the League, the SSTMI-BJSS clash went to the wire as the score was 6-5, and SSTMI stole the win in the 70th minute off a  Luqman Hakim penalty corner.
  BJSS have a hockey 'Messi' in their fold in Hafiizhuddin Zaidi -- who has scored a total of 19 field goals. Every season the top-scorer always scored the majority of the goals off penalty corners, but Hafiizhuddin has been deadly in field attempts.
  BJSS also have Arif Sabron, 13 goals and third on the scoring list, and he has also been amazing as he scored 12 field and one off a penalty corner rebound.
  As for SSTMI, their goal-getter has been Akhimullah Anuar on 10 goals. None were field and one off a penalty corner.
  BJSS team manager K. Rajan said: "I believe my players are ready to lay their hands on the trophy after a long absence as they have showed progress in every match. In the league clash, we were unlucky not to have won the match which we controlled."
  SSTMI coach Wan Roslan Wan Rahman was modest about his chances.
  "We have not been very impressive this season, and did just enough to win the League title and reach the TNB Cup final.
  "But now that we are within touching distance of the trophy, I believe we are good for our fifth conseutive double."
  Which ever team wins, Tenaga Nasional's Thunderbolts programme will emerge as the biggest winner this season, as all four semi-finals were under their Thunderbolts stable.
  SUNDAY: TNB CUP Final: SSTMI v BJSS (8.30pm); Third-Fourth: Anderson v SSP-MSP (5.45pm).
  Note: Both matches at Pitch II of the National Hockey Stadium.