Thursday, September 3, 2015

Coming together for all-rounder Satwant

PIC: Satwant Singh with former Pakistan team manager KM Junaid.

A GROUP of former hockey players will come together Saturday at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil for a fund-raiser as well as a coaching clinic.
  Coached by 1958 Asian Games and 1964 Tokyo Olympics mastero C. Paramalingam, the group of Asian Games, Olympic and World Cup players will 'take on' KL Under-14 boys at 8.30am.
  The event is to raise funds for former Yayasan Negri Sembilan  manager Satwant Singh, who is under the weather.
  Satwant, from Tampin Negeri Sembilan, was responsible for the glory days of YNS and took them to become Overall champions in 1995 and 1996, and League champions in the 1992-93 season and 1996.
  YNS in those days held the distinction of having the best players from India -- Pargat Singh, Jude Felix, Mukesh Kumar.
  Olympians Minarwan Nawawi and Maninderjit Singh as well as Drs Brian Jayhan Siva and Calvin Fernandez will be among the former stars to play against the Under-14 boys.
  Organising chairman I. Vickneswran said: "Most of the players are from the 1992 Junior Asia Cup squad which won silver and held the record for 20 years before Malaysia finally won gold in 2013 in Malacca.
  "This group then advanced to the 1993 Junior World Cup, and went on to play in the Olympics, World Cups and Asian Games. Satwant was instrumental in helping many of the players in one way or the other and we will be down Saturday in appreciation of his decades of dedication to hockey while holding numerous posts."
  The occasion will also celebrate Paramalingam's 50th wedding anniversary.
  Fans should not miss this opportunity to watch their former stars in action, after conducting a coaching clinic.
  Coach: C. Paramalingam; Assistant coaches: Abdul Malik Khiew and Khairuddin Zainal; Team Doctor: Datuk Dr Ramlan Aziz .
  Players: I. Vikneswaran, Dr Brian Jayhan Siva, M. Jayamaran, Lam Mun Fatt, Eugene Lee, Chairil Anwar, Lailin Abu Hassan, Nasihin Nubli, Sunil Prasad, Mirnawan Nawawi, M. Narayanaviswa, Atul Kumar, Raymond Yap, Jaafar Veloo, Perry Khoo, Maninderjit Singh, Aphthar Singh, Zamzam Ali, K. Dinakaran, Azhari Amir, Tarvinder Singh,  Sivadas Naidu, Suhairi Saidi, Dr Calvin Fernandez, Nasir Maidin,  Khalil Lau Kok Chim, Simon Matthew, Arul Selvaraj, M. Nadarajan, K. Vijayraj Kannaiah, N. Kunaraja Nagalingam, Edward Makender, Ong Toon Leong, Imran Saat, Meor Mahzian Musa, Azroy Majid, Sukhdev Singh, Mohamed Zalizan.