Sunday, September 7, 2014

KLHC-Tenaga MHL curtain raiser..

KUALA Lumpur Hockey Club (KLHC) and Tenaga Nasional  will open the Malaysia Hockey League Premier Division  curtain with a Charity Shield on Oct 29.
   The MHL Premier Division is likely to see 10 teams  competing when the entries close on Sept 24.
   “We shifted the Charity Shield date to respect Deepavali  celebrations on Oct 22. And by the time entries close, I expect  at least 10 teams in the Premier Division,” said Malaysian  Hockey Confederation (MHC) competitions committee sec retary Hashim Yusoff.
  Each team will be allowed to hire a maximum of six foreign  players.
   “The final is slated on Dec 21, this is to give the national  team time to prepare for the World League Second Round in  Singapore on January 17-25.
   If Malaysia fail to win gold in the Asian Games, where they  will battle South Korea, India and Pakistan, the World League  is a second chance to qualify for the 2016 Olympics in Rio de  Janeiro.
   In the Premier Division last season, the seven teams which  competed were KL Hockey Club, Tenaga Nasional, Maybank,  Sapura, UniKL, Terengganu and MBI-Nur Insafi.
    And double champions KLHC will be the team to beat again  this season.