Thursday, May 29, 2014

Moments of respect for the icon..

MALAYSIA will open their World Cup campaign against  world No 1 Australia this Saturday, and there will be a  moment of silence before the match to recognise the contributions of the late Sultan Azlan Shah.
   Azlan Shah, who died on Wednesday, was the Asian Hockey  Federation (AHF) president as well as an Executive Board  member of the International Hockey Federation (FIH).
    “Sultan Azlan Shah was an important and passionate  member of our Executive Board and we are very saddened by  this news,” said Leandro Negre, president of FIH.
   “Our condolences go out to his Royal Highness’ entire  family and especially his wife, Raja Permaisuri Perak Tuanku  Bainun, his son, Raja Dr Nazrin Shah and daughters, Dato  Seri Raja Azureen, Raja Eleena and Raja Yong Sofia,” added  Negre.
    FIH CEO Kelly Fairweather said: “This is a great loss for the  hockey world as Sultan Azlan Shah was an icon in hockey.
  “His commitment and his dedication as an ambassador for  the sport will truly be missed.”
    The FIH press release also said: “Moments of respect will  be paid during the Rabobank Hockey World Cup in The  Hague, Netherlands.”
    Azlan Shah passed away at the age of 86 after being the  president of the AHF since 1990, and saw the growth of AHF  from 20 to its now 31 members.
    In addition, Azlan Shah was pivotal in the start-up of the  Raja Ashman AHF-MHFC Academy, which is now the leading  centre for hockey officials and coaches in Asia.
    Malaysian coach K. Dharmaraj said his players will wear a  black arm-band as a mark of respect.
   “The players and officials were all shocked when we heard  about the passing of Azlan Shah, and on a personal note, he  was a guiding figure when I was a national player, as well as  when I became a coach. I remember with fondness when he  came to watch my boys become champions in the Junior Asia  Cup in Malacca (and qualified for the Junior World Cup),”  said Dharmaraj.
    MALAYSIA’S World Cup Fixtures (Malaysian time) -- May  31 v Australia (4.30pm); June 2: v Belgium (11.30pm); June  5: v England (7pm); June 7: v India (8.30pm); June 9: v Spain  (8.30pm).