Monday, September 2, 2013

Malaysia qualify for World Cup 2014

Korean success at Asia Cup guarantees Malaysia ticket to The Hague

BY FIH -- Malaysia men have become the latest team to achieve qualification for the Rabobank Hockey World Cup 2014, the International Hockey Federation’s showpiece event which takes place in The Hague, Netherlands.
The joint men’s and women’s competition takes place from 31st May to 15th June next year, with the 15,000-seater Kyocera Stadium playing host to the finest international hockey teams in the world.
Malaysia’s berth at the summer spectacular was guaranteed following Korea’s dramatic 4-3 triumph over India in the final of the men’s Asia Cup 2013 in Ipoh (MAS).
Like all of the continental championships, the big prize on offer at the Asia Cup was direct World Cup qualification to the event winner. However, with Korea having recently been promoted from first reserves to confirmed World Cup qualifiers thanks to Argentina’s victory in the Pan American Cup, the door was opened to the other reserves for the tournament. Last weekend, second reserves Spain were confirmed for the event courtesy of Germany’s success in TriFinance EuroHockey Championships, meaning that third reserves Malaysia become the team to benefit from Korea’s Asia Cup victory.
Malaysia are the tenth men’s team to qualify for the Rabobank Hockey World Cup, with two more places up for grabs at the upcoming continental championships in Oceania and Africa. Eight women’s teams have also been confirmed for the event, with the remaining places going to the winners of the Asian, Oceania, Pan American and African continental championships.
More information about the World Cup qualifiers and qualifying process can be found below.

Rabobank Hockey World Cup – Men’s Qualifiers 
Netherlands: Hosts.
Germany: Continental champions Europe
Argentina: Continental champions Pan America
Korea: Continental champions Asia
England: 3rd place – Hockey World League Semi-Final, Johor Bahru (MAS)
Belgium: 1st place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED)
Australia: 2nd place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED)
New Zealand: 4th place – Rabobank Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED) *
Spain: 5th place – Hockey World League Semi-Final, Rotterdam (NED). **
Malaysia: 5th place – Hockey World League Semi-Final, Johor Bahru (MAS) ***

* Netherlands finished third in the Hockey World League Semi-Final event in Rotterdam.  As they are already pre-qualified as the host, this means that the highest ranked fourth place finisher from both Semi-Final events earns direct qualification to the Rabobank Hockey World Cup. This place goes to New Zealand, who were fourth in Rotterdam and currently sit fifth in the FIH World Rankings.
** Spain qualified as second reserve courtesy of Germany’s victory in the TriFinance EuroHockey Championships. Spain (5th in Rotterdam) were named second reserve ahead of Malaysia (5th in Johor Bahru) courtesy of a superior placing in the FIH World Rankings.
*** Malaysia qualified as third reserve courtesy of Korea’s victory in the Asia Cup 2013.

World Cup Qualification - The Next Stage
The remaining places at the Rabobank Hockey World Cup for men will be filled by the winners of the final two continental championships. However, if any of the above listed teams also becomes continental champion it will open the door to the team that finished outside the top three at the Hockey World League Semi-Finals that has not yet qualified for the World Cup. This team can be found below.    
India: 6th in Rotterdam / 4th reserve for World Cup.