Friday, March 2, 2012

Thunderbolts zap Anderson 15 times

UNIKL Young Guns will square off against SSTMI Thunderbolts for the third straight season to decide who lifts the Milo Cup at the Azlan Shah Stadium tomorrow.
Yesterday, a scrappy UniKL Young Guns were held to a 2-2 draw Bukit Jalil Sports School (BJSS) but booked their final ticket on a 5-3 aggregate.
However, BJSS have only themselves to blame, as they led 2-0 but cave in, in the final 15 minutes.
Division One champions Thunderbolts were the more aggressive side yesterday as they demolished MBI Anderson 10-1, for a 15-3 aggregate win.
UniKL manager Amir Azhar conceded that with 48 hours to the final: “If we play like we did today (yesterday) against Thunderbolts, we will be slaughtered at the Azlan Shah Stadium in Ipoh.”
The UniKL-BJSS play was centred around midfield, until the 22nd minute penalty corner which was tucked in by Azrul Hasbullah to put BJSS ahead.
BJSS almost drew level in the 25th minute when Zizi Azwan was presented a golden opportunity with only the goalkeeper to beat but he pushed the ball straight into Fitri Jasni.
And BJSS were again rewarded in the 46th minute when Hafif Elkan scored, also off a penalty corner.
However, that attempt goal woke up UniKL and goals from N. Kaatigan (53rd) and Nor Azrul Rahman (58th) were enough to take them into the final, as they had beaten BJSS 3-1 in the first leg.
As for Thunderbolts their goals were scored by Shahril Saabah got his hat-trick in the 40th, 43rd and 54th minutes to take his tally to 18,
The other goals were scored by Firhan Ashaari (25th, 64th and 65th), Hafiz Seleman (2nd, 37th), Sufi Ismat (19th) and Ahmad Alif Nazaruddin (57th).
Akmal Mohd Tajuddin (51st) scored the consolation goal for the Ipoh team.
RESULTS -- Semi-finals, return leg:
UniKL 2 Bukit Jalil SS 2 (UniKL win 5-3 on aggregate)
MBI Anderson 1 SSTMI Thunderbolts 10 (Thunderbolts win 15-3 on aggregate).
TOMORROW -- Final: UniKL v SSTMI Thunderbolts (6pm); Third-Fourth: Bukit Jalil Sports School v MBI Anderson (4pm).
(Both matches at the Azlan Shah Stadium in Bukit Jalil).