Friday, January 20, 2012

UniKL beat TBSS 4-0

LEAGUE champions UniKL Young Guns beat Tunku Besar Secondary School (TBSS) of Tampin 4-0 for their second consecutive win in Division One of the Milo-Junior Hockey League at the Seremban II Stadium yesterday.
UniKL had edged Petaling Jaya Municipal Council 2-1 on Thursday.
However the double aspirants still played well below their standard yesterday, and it was defensive errors by TBSS defenders which gifted them the first two goals.
They took the lead in the eighth minute off Taufik Hamid and ten minutes later doubled their advantage when Hafiz Zainol found the back of the net after the ball had struck umpire Rosdi Pilus and caught the TBSS defence flatfooted.
The other goals were scored by Fahed Saifullah (44th) and Zulhannan Mazlan (50th).
“My players could not get used to the pitch conditions and could not score during penalty corners, while the forwards still keep muffing sitters.
“The one week break will give us an opportunity to work on these areas and despite the not scoring convincing wins in our first two matches, the six points would go a long way in our quest for a double this season,” said UniKL team manager Amir Azhar.
In Division Two Group A, Sapura were impressive when they bulldozed Anderson Juniors 5-1 at the Sultan Azlan Shah Stadium in Ipoh.
Sapura, who made their JHL debut this season, had beaten USM Juniors 5-0 on Thursday.
Two Division Two Group B matches had to be called off yesterday, after torrential rain in Kuala Lumpur forced the KL Sports School and Olak-PKT match to be abandoned after 13 minutes, while the Yayasan Pahang and Datuk Taha match was called off in Pahang for the same reason.
RESULTS: Division One -- TBSS 0 UniKL 4, MBI Anderson x USM-MSSPP x.
Division Two (A): Politeknik KPT 1 Kedah HA Jr 2, Nur Insafi 3 KHA-MSNK 2, Anderson Jr 1 Sapura 5, MSSPP-USM Jr 5 PHNS 0.
Division Two (B): Yayasan Pahang v Datuk Taha (rained off), KLSS v Olak-PKT (rained off).
TODAY: Division One -- Thunderbolt vs SSBJ (Taman Daya I, 5pm), SSTMI vs SSBJ Jr (Taman Daya II, 5pm), TBSS vs MBPJ (Seremban II, 5pm).
Division Two (A): PHK-MSSK vs PHNS (Azaln Shah, 5pm).
Division Two (B): KLSS vs MPBP (KLHA, 5pm), Padang Midin vs Datuk Taha (Terengganu, 5pm), Olak-PKT vs Malac ca HS (Bukit Jalil, 5pm).