Monday, November 28, 2011

Kuala Lumpur champions again

KUALA Lumpur lifted their fourth consecutive Boys National Under-14 title when they hammered Terengganu 6-2 at the KLHA Stadium yesterday.
The tournament was incepted in 2006, and Perak won the first two titles. But after that, KL took charge from 2008 onwards until yesterday.
For the record, the previous five editions were KL-Perak finals.
Terengganu started on a super note when their skipper Luqman Nul Haqim scored a spectacular top-of-the-net field goal in the sixth minute itself, but that was as far as they went.
Kuala Lumpur made a strong comeback after that stunner and scored off three consecutive penalty corners and a field goal to take a comfortable 4-1 lead into the breather.
The equaliser was nailed by Khairul Amirin in the 10th minute, and then he gave KL the lead in the 21st minute.
Shahfirul Aqmal made it 3-1 in the 25th minute, and KL made it count in the final second of the first half when Ameer Mohamed scored a field goal.
After the breather, Wan Haziq Hisyamuddin doused any hopes of a Terengganu fight-back with a field goal in the 38th minute, and Shahfirul Aqmal made it 6-1 off a field attempt in the 51st minute.
Terengganu's second goal was scored by Amirul Mirza in the 52nd minute, but by then, KL had already sealed the title.
"It was a shaky start, but credit to my players who never gave up after letting in an early goal and fought gallantly to claim an emphatic victory," said KL coach Nishel Kumar, a former national player who made his coaching debut.
In the bronze play-off, Perak came back from behind to beat a tired looking Kelantan side. Kelantan score off Khairul Asyraff in the eighth minute, and held onto the lead but gave up in the last 10 minutes of the match.
Luqman Hakim scored the equaliser for Perak in the 60th minute off a penalty corner attempt, and the medal winner was delivered by Najme Ahmad in a 68th minute penalty stroke.
RESULTS: Final -- Kuala Lumpur 6 Terengganu 2; Third-Fourth: Perak 2 Kelantan 1.


Fairplay: Perlis.
Player of the Tournament: Luqman Nul Hakim (Terengganu)
Best Goalkeeper: Amirul Abdul Halim (Perak).
Top Scorer: Luqman Nul Hakim (Terengganau) and Shahfirul Aqmal (Kuala Lumpur) -- both scored 12 goals.
Most Promising Player: Iskandar Fahmi Razali (Kelantan).