Sunday, August 1, 2010

Aussies in a mean mood

World Champions Australia smashed New Zealand 9-1, Netherlands defeated pain 5-2 and Germany beat England 4-0. Tomorrow Australia face the Netherlands, England and Spain compete for their first points and Germany clash New Zealand.
Germany beat England 4-2 in the opening match
Germany are the first leaders of the table. The hosts left England no chances in the opening match and beat them 4-2 (4-0) due to their great performance in the first half.
GER v NED 4-2 (4-0)
1-0 5’ Oscar DEECKE (FG)
2-0 28’ Jan-Marco MONTAG (PC)
3-0 32’ Martin HÄNER (PC)
4-0 35+1’ Benjamin WESS (PC)
4-1 45’ Ashley JACKSON (PC)
4-2 65’ Ashley JACKSON (PC)

Australia smash New Zealand 9-1
New Zealand are 18 Champions Trophy games without a victory after getting smashed by their neighbours from Australia. Jason WILSON has scored two goals in his Champions Trophy debut.

Jamie DWYER opened the score in the third minute, he had never scored that early in a Champions Trophy encounter. Afterwards New Zealand gave Australia as less space as possible which made it very hard for the Kookaburras to enter the Black Sticks’ circle. It took up to the 26th minute until Australia scored again: Luke DOERNER made the first of his two goals in this match. Immediately after the push-back Jason WILSON made it 3-0 and four minutes later Simon ORCHARD even increased the lead. The Black Sticks did not give up and fought back. The hopes coming back to New Zealand after Nicholas WILSON’s goal did not last long because Australia answered just before the half time whistle.
The Kookaburras kept up their pace, scored phenomenal goals and frustrated their neighbours with four more goals in the second half.

AUS v NZL 9-1 (5-1)
1-0 3’ Jamie DWYER (FG)
2-0 26’ Luke DOERNER (PC)
3-0 27’ Jason WILSON (FG)
4-0 31’ Simon ORCHARD (FG)
4-1 33’ Nicholas WILSON (FG)
5-1 34’ Glenn TURNER (FG)
6-1 (54’) Jason WILSON (FG)
7-1 (59’) Russell FORD (PC)
8-1 (62’) Luke DOERNER (PC)
9-1 (67’) Russell FORD (FG)

Netherlands take 5-2 victory over Spain

The Netherlands beat Spain in Ramon ALEGRE’ 200th cap. They are second now and overtook Germany due to the better goal difference.

NED v ESP 5-2 (4-1) 1-0 (10’) Jeroen HERTZBERGER (FG) 1-1 (11’) Pau QUEMADA (FG) 2-1 (25’) Jeroen HERTZBERGER (FG) 3-1 (31’) Mink van der WEERDEN (PC) 4-1 (33’) Teun de NOOIJER (FG) 4-2 (36’) David ALEGRE (FG) 5-2 (55’) Rogier HOFMAN (FG)