Friday, March 5, 2010

Koreans show class

The Netherlands earned their second win at the Hero Honda FIH World Cup 2010 in Delhi, beating New Zealand (3-1), while Germany and Korea added a win to their tie on opening day.
Game 10 – Canada v. Germany: 0-6 (half-time: 0-4)
The first game of day 4 pitted the youngest team of the competition (Germany, 24 years old) lead by the youngest Captain (Maximilian MÜLLER, 22) to the oldest team (Canada, 27) lead by veteran Ken PEREIRA (36). The two teams have not met often, and only once in a World Cup back in 1998 when the match ended in a 4-4 tie with Rob Short, still playing in the Canadian team today, scoring two goals.
Match facts (Canada vs. Germany):
> Germany won 6-0 to hand Canada their biggest World Cup defeat ever.
> Canada had never lost by more than four goals in World Cup competition.
> Today’s 6-0 victory also marked the joined second biggest World Cup win for Germany and their biggest in 32 years since beating India 7-0 in 1978.
> Germany equaled the Pakistan’s longest World cup unbeaten streak by avoiding defeat in their 15th consecutive World Cup match. Only Australia have ever set a longer WC run without defeat (20 matches).
> Benjamin Wess and Florian Fuchs (GER) joined David Alegre (ESP) and Ashley Jackson (ENG) as players to have scored in both of their team’s matches at the 2010 World Cup.
> Florian Fuchs (GER) scored twice against Canada. He has now netted three goals at the 2010 World Cup.
> Germany skipper Max Mueller became the third captain to score at the 2010 World Cup, joining Jamie Dwyer (AUS, 2 goals) and Rajpal Singh (IND, 1 goal).
> Canada are still to collect their first points at Delhi 2010.
> Germany are now on four points from two matches.

Game 11 – Argentina v. Korea: 2-1 (half-time: 0-0)

Argentina and Korea have not met in World Cup action since 1994 in Sydney, when current Korean Coach Seok Kyo SHIN was still playing for his country.
Match Facts (Argentina v. Korea):

> Korea beat Argentina 2-1 as Nam Hyun-Woo converted a penalty corner in the last minute of the match.
> Korea also pulled this trick in the 2006 World Cup. In their match against India they scored the winning goal in the 69th minute by converting a penalty corner.
> Facundo Callioni scored Argentina’s first goal at Delhi 2010 and the first World Cup goal for Argentina since Rodrigo Vila scored in the 2006 Final 9-10 against Japan (2-1).
> Lee Nam-Yong scored the equaliser for Korea. He joins Benjamin Wess (GER), Florian Fuchs (GER), David Alegre (ESP) and Ashley Jackson (ENG) as players to have scored in both of their team’s matches at the 2010 World Cup.

Game 12 – New Zealand v. Netherlands: 1-3 (half-time: 1-3)

The last match of the day between New Zealand and The Netherlands started with a bang! Black Sticks Captain Phillip BURROWS sneaked in the Dutch defense to deflect the ball in goal in the first minute of play and shortly after Ronald BROUWER was on hand to pick up the rebound after a reverse stick shot by Teun DE NOOIJER was stopped by Kyle PONTIFEX. Two goals in less than two minutes. The avalanche continued a few minutes later when Taeke TAEKEMA made no mistake to score his forth penalty-corner of the competition.

Match facts (New Zealand v. Netherlands):

> The Netherlands join England as the only team to have won maximum points from their first two matches.
> With only one goal conceded, the Dutch have allowed least goals so far at Delhi 2010.
> Taeke Taekema converted one of five penalty corners in this match to lift his Delhi 2010 PC tally to 4. This brings him to the top of the goals scorer list.
> Only 2 minutes into the match, both teams had already scored a goal.
> The last time two teams scored one goal each within 10 minutes from the start of the match, was in the 2002 semi-final Germany-Korea (3-2), when the score was 1-1 after 7 minutes.
> Ronald Brouwer (NED) scored his 4th WC goal and his first in 2010.
> Dutch side Rotterdam saw two of their players score in this match: Phillip Burrows (NZL) and Jeroen Hertzberger (NED).

Results Day 4 - Wednesday 3 March 2010

Canada v. Germany 0:6 (0:4)
GER 3mn Benjamin WESS (FG) 0:1
GER 21mn Jan-Marco MONTAG (PC) 0:2
GER 22mn Maximilian MÜLLER (PC) 0:3
GER 27mn Martin HÄNER (PC) 0:4
GER 58mn Florian FUCHS (FG) 0:5
GER 63mn Florian FUCHS (FG) 0:6

Argentina v. Korea 2:1 (0:0)
ARG 53mn Facundo CALLIONI (FG) 1:0
KOR 62mn Nam Yong LEE (FG) 1:1
KOR 70mn Hyun Woo NAM (PC) 1:2

New Zealand v. Netherlands 1:3 (1:3)
NZL 1mn Phillip BURROWS (FG) 1:0
NED 2mn Ronald BROUWER (FG) 1:1
NED 8mn Taeke TAEKEMA (PC) 1:2
NED 27mn Jeroen HERTZBERGER (PC) 1:3

Pool Standings:
Pool A: 1) Netherlands 6 pts 2) Germany 4 pts (+6) 3) Korea 4 pts (+1) 4) New Zealand 3pts 5) Argentina 0 pt (-4) 6) Canada 0 pt (-7)
Pool B: 1) England 6 pts 2) Australia 3 pts (+2) 3) Spain 3 pts (+1) 4) India 3 pts (0) 5) Pakistan 3 pts (-2) 6) South Africa 0 pt