Wednesday, March 10, 2010

Germany-Netherlands draw

At the Hero Honda FIH World Cup 2010 in Delhi, Germany and The Netherlands played to a 2-2 tie that puts them at the top of Pool A, while Korea dominated Canada (9-2) and Argentina earned their first win of the competition over New Zealand (1-0).

Game 22 – Korea v. Canada: 9-2 (half-time: 2-0)

Canada and Korea have only met twice in World Cup history and, oddly, in the same year (1998) when they drew in the round-robin and Korea beat Canada for the 7-8 classification. Here in Delhi, Korea, semi-finalists in the last two World Cups, beat Argentina and tied with Germany, but lost to New Zealand, while Canada have still not collected a point after losing to New Zealand, Germany and The Netherlands.

Match Facts (Korea v. Canada):

> Korea beat Canada 9-2 to break the Korean WC record for scoring most goals in a match.
> Korea’s previous highest score in a World Cup match was 7 goals against Belgium (7-2) in 1994.
> Today’s defeat by 7 goals is the biggest defeat for Canada in World Cup history.
> Canada have now conceded at least 6 goals in three successive World Cup matches after losing 6-0 to both Germany and Netherlands.
> Today’s 11-goal match is the second highest scoring match at Delhi 2010, following AUS-RSA 12-0.
> Jang Jong-Hyun scored a hat-trick to become the first Korean player since Song Seung-Tae in 1998 (4-2 vs CAN) to score a hat-trick in a World Cup match.
> Jang Jong-Hyun was Korea’s top goal scorer at the 2006 World Cup scoring 5 goals.
> Lee Nam-Yong has now scored in all 4 matches for Korea at Delhi 2010.
> Philip Wright (CAN) scored twice in this match to become the first Canadian player since Rob Short in 1998 (vs GER 4-4) to score twice in a World Cup match. Wright is now on three goals in total at Delhi 2010.

Game 23 – New Zealand v. Argentina: 0-1 (half-time: 0-0)

New Zealand came into the match with two wins against Canada and Korea and a loss against The Netherlands, while Argentina were still pointless after 3 games, a situation that did not reflect their excellent level of play in this competition, especially in their narrow losses against Korea (1-2) and Germany (3-4). The Kiwis were unfortunately lining up without their injured Captain Phillip BURROWS.

Match Facts (New Zealand v. Argentina):

> Argentina collected their first WC victory since beating India 3-2 in the Qualification Match 9-12 in 2006.
> Today’s win ended Argentina’s 4-match losing streak in World Cup competition.
> Argentina are now one 3 points, leaving Canada as the only team that is yet to win their first points at Delhi 2010.
> Today’s 1-0 score marks the lowest scoring WC match at Delhi 2010.
> Facundo Callioni (ARG) opened the score as he did in Argentina’s match against Korea which they eventually lost (1-2).
> Ryan Archibald (NZL) joined Jamie Dwyer (AUS) as players to have missed a penalty stroke at Delhi 2010.

Game 24 – Germany v. Netherlands: 2-2 (half-time: 0-1)

The Netherlands entered the last match of the day unbeaten in the competition while Germany, the current World Champions, had to concede a draw to Korea in their opening game. The match was played in front of large contingents of German and Dutch fans, making up for the absence of local crowd.

Match facts (Germany vs. Netherlands):

> The Netherland and Germany drew to lift their points total to 10 and 8 points respectively.
>This marked only the second draw at Delhi 2010 following Germany – Korea (2-2).
> On Tuesday Germany play New Zealand and Netherlands play Korea for a semi-final berth.
> Dutch captain Teun de Nooijer has now scored in five successive World Cup editions (i.e. every World Cup since 1994).
> Ties Kruize (NED) is the only other player to have scored in five World Cup editions (1973-1986).
> Oliver Korn (GER) became the 8th Germany player to score at Delhi 2010. The only other team to have seen so many different players score is England (8).
> After 24 matches at Delhi 2010, a total of 133 goals have been scored, an average of 5.54 goals per match.
> The World Cup tournament with the highest average is 1994, when 4.98 goals per match were scored.

Results Day 8 - Sunday 7 March 2010

Korea v. Canada 9:2 (2:0)
KOR 23mn Hyun Woo NAM (PC) 1:0
KOR 35+mn Jong Hyun JANG (PS) 2:0
KOR 38mn Nam Yong LEE (FG) 3:0
KOR 40mn Sung Hoon YOON (FG) 4:0
KOR 41mn Hyo Sik YOU (FG) 5:0
CAN 42mn Philip WRIGHT (FG) 5:1
KOR 45mn Jong Hyun JANG (PC) 6:1
CAN 51mn Philip WRIGHT (FG) 6:2
KOR 61mn Jong Hyun JANG (PC) 7:2
KOR 63mn Hyo Sik YOU (FG) 8:2
KOR 67mn Hyun Woo NAM (PC) 9:2

New Zealand v. Argentina 0:1 (0:0)
ARG 55mn Facundo CALLIONI (FG) 0:1

Germany v. The Netherlands 2:2 (0:1)
NED 23mn Wouter JOLIE (PC) 0:1
GER 44mn Oliver KORN (FG) 1:1
GER 63mn Jan-Marco MONTAG (FG) 2:1
NED 65mn Teun DE NOOIJER (FG) 2:2

Pool Standings:
Pool A: 1) Netherlands 10 pts 2) Germany 8 pts 3) Korea 7pts 4) New Zealand 6 pts 5) Argentina 3 pts 6) Canada 0 pt
Pool B: 1) England 12 pts 2) Australia 9 pts 3) Spain 6 pts 4) India 3 pts (-4) 5) Pakistan 3 pts (-6) 6) South Africa 3 pts (-15).