Thursday, January 28, 2010

India, Pakistan for Azlan Shah Cup

By Ajitpal Singh

FOUR teams have confirmed their entries for this year’s Azlan Shah Cup but the Malaysian Hockey Federation (MHF) is optimistic another three teams will accept their invitation by this Sunday’s closing date.
Defending champions India, Pakistan, Australia and Malaysia are the confirmed teams.
MHF has also invited the Netherlands, Spain, Germany, South Korea, Japan and Egypt for the tournament, scheduled at the Sultan Azlan Shah Stadium on May 8-16.
“We are targeting seven teams for the competition. I am confident other teams will reply by Sunday,” said MHF secretary Hashim Yusoff.
In last year’s edition, India defeated Malaysia 3-1 in the final while Pakistan finished fourth.
Meanwhile, the inaugural Asian Champions Trophy will be held at the Sultan Azlan Shah Stadium in Ipoh on April 3- 18.
Korea, Pakistan, China and Malaysia, the top four finishers in last year’s Asia Cup will compete for the title.